Dictionary.com defines happy as:
adjective, happier, happiest.

  1. delighted, pleased, or glad, as over a particular thing:
  2. characterized by or indicative of pleasure, contentment, or joy:
  3. favored by fortune; fortunate or lucky:

Being happy is a choice, or at least, being miserable is. The key to happiness is satisfaction with yourself or your situation. Some of the most miserable people are those who insist on “should” events. They are certain that something should happen and when it doesn’t, they are put into a tailspin. The only things that should happen are those you actually make happen. Perhaps I should be a writer, but if I choose to not write, it isn’t going to happen.

The world is full of stress and anxiety. This has a lot to do with “should” as well. We should be able to drive from here to there with nothing getting in our way. We actually think things like this even during rush hour. There is no reality that supports this. There are hundred, thousands, tens of thousands, or even millions of people also trying to get from here to there and they are using the same roads and there is going to be a crush of traffic. Traffic signals make it easier but also make it more frustrating to those who believe it should be smooth sailing.

Don’t be the jackass in the car all mad because other jackasses are in their cars and everyone is just trying to get home because they are tired and cranky and why the hell doesn’t that fool just hang up and drive!

We are told we “deserve a break today” in the hopes that we will actually believe that lie. You don’t. You especially don’t deserve cheap, crappy food today. You deserve to drag yourself through the grocery store, select healthy food, bring it home, and turn it into a meal. That way you can live longer. Unless you get run over by one of the jackass drivers above.

We deserve from life exactly what we put into it. My time at the gym right now is not what it was even a month ago. That’s because I’ve been on vacation and not at the gym. I don’t deserve to have the same weights, same stamina, same mobility as when I was showing up 4-5 times a week. I haven’t been putting in the work and so I don’t get the results.

Hopefully, the people at the gym are happy to see me back at it. And hopefully, I can be happy with the re-acclimating process. To expect to get what I didn’t earn is only going to make me sad. Instead, I can be grateful for the time I had with my sisters, my sons and their families, and all the memories I created. And I am. So that makes me happy.

I wish you happiness. Spreading it around is wonderful, but I wish mostly you grab some for yourself.

19059192_1386001248149257_3742861808332434380_n

