I like to think of myself as invincible. I have no idea why since it has been proven repeatedly, that I’m not. Not even close. I’m pretty much capable of injuring myself while standing still. But, in my mind, I’m invincible.

I do CrossFit which is pretty damn a) incredible and b) stupid when one considers my age and natural proclivities. I’m fairly klutzy and lack in both the coordination and muscle requirements for athletic endeavors. But still, I persist.

Last week, I was doing a power snatch and decided, for unknown reasons, to just add a little ballet type step to the bar overhead part. I twisted myself half around and injured my left lower back. So for the rest of the week, I tried to take things easy and I worked on mobility things at home. The workouts were in my favor and my back wasn’t too bad, it was just a bit ouchy.

By Monday of this week, I was back to my old self and I mean that in every sense of the word. I was back to how I am most of the time, which is old.

The WOD had dumbbell snatches in it. I’ve done these twice before and each time, I’ve strained my back. I know to keep my butt low in the squat and to lead with my elbow coming up. I also knew I had managed 55 of these during the open and although I was a bit stiff and sore afterwards, it’s not uncommon for me. See the “I’m old” part above.

This week, there were “only” 45 and so I was sure I could manage this. I thought to myself on each rep, “butt down” and I believe I really was keeping my butt down. I got through the 21 without any problems. I had a sore back at the end of the 15, but there were only 9 more to do and I kept up my mantra. Butt low. Butt low. And I thought I would be okay.

I wasn’t. Apparently, based on when things hurt even worse, I was twisting as I switched hands with each rep and I somehow totally destroyed my right lower back, but not really. I totally destroyed my right butt cheek, but that just sounds pitiful to my ears.

My back/butt hurt me so bad, it kept waking me up Monday night/Tuesday morning. My alarm went off and when I almost cried getting out of bed, I pretended I had the sense God gave spit, and I crawled back under the covers and stayed there.

I rolled on a lacrosse ball. I used essential oils. I used a foam roller. I winced with every step I took and gasped each time I got out of any chair. I did show up for yin yoga Tuesday evening and stretching helped tremendously. So, of course, I figured, showing up on Wednesday would be fine. I had already missed a day.

The WOD was deadlifts, power cleans, thrusters, and overhead squats in a Tabata routine. Two rounds. So eighty seconds of each move, total. I was sure this would be okay. I thought I would do the deadlifts and power cleans using a light weight and just get my heart rate down during the thrusters and overhead squats. Warm-up included some push press wall balls and even that hurt my back/butt. So, instead of doing something fun, I pretended I was not an idiot and I did 20 seconds of child’s pose interchanged with 20 seconds of downward dog.

Thursday, is my normal day off and I had a massage scheduled. Catherine did a great job fixing the remnants of my invincibility gone wrong. I could actually move without pain. It was heavenly.

I showed up today and we were doing Annie with extra rope climbs between each round. I did the warm-up gingerly and tried a few sit-ups. It worked without hurting, although V-ups were still not a good idea. I tried jumping rope and that didn’t hurt either. But there are 150 of each. I knew I wasn’t doing anything like a rope climb because that would just hurt me. I had to promise I would stop if I was in any pain.

I was in pain, but it was the front, not the back, and so I finished. Then, after the WOD, we had another class of yin yoga. I felt a few pulls in that and would back off from the stretch. As I sit here, I am feeling pretty good.

I’m going to guess my stomach is going to be sore tomorrow, but it is the good kind, not the “you dumb old fart, what did you think you were doing” kind. My real goal is to be ready to honor all the fallen soldiers and do my version of Murph on Monday. Maybe I am invincible.

944317_579644708724442_780732565_n

