Sometimes I forget how much I have accomplished. It seems to just be part of who I am today. It’s like it just magically appeared and so, of course, that’s what it is now. But that’s not really how life works.

The sleepless nights of motherhood are replaced by the next phase and watching your “kids” turn into parents themselves. The fears and worries seem so long ago and of course, they are just part of parenting and who doesn’t have this stuff to deal with? So, it just seems like one day carries into the next and we inch our way through life.

We don’t remember when we could neither walk nor talk but there was a time when we could do neither. And we fearlessly worked to get around the coffee table and then, bravely, let go only to plop down on the ground. But that didn’t stop us. We let go and fell down until we could let go, take a step or two, and then fall down. And we did that until we could walk around the room and then we ran and now we move without giving it a second thought. But each and every one of us had to learn this skill. And we failed miserably many times before we mastered it.

Learning to talk wasn’t any easier. Even now, in adulthood, at least if Facebook is any indication, there are people who struggle with the language. They have no idea what the words really are or how to spell them. And proofreading seems unimportant even when working hard to make a cute little saying emblazoned across some adorable picture. Just slap it together seems to be the way. But for those of us who worry about such things, we had to learn spelling and grammar and vocabulary and proper usage. And it took many failings before we got it right.

Years ago, I finally got a deadlift of 42# up off the ground. I was beaming in the picture and so proud of all my hard work. Then I immediately set off on new goals. I’ve improved that number by a bit now. And I am pleased and I have a newer, higher goal already in mind.

Today’s skill was 3 x 5 at 90% of one rep max strict press. That meant my weight was 47#. A strict press is the lightest lift we do. There is no extra help. Your skinny little arms have to press the weight from shoulders to locked out overhead. No boost with your legs or hips allowed. Just power that sucker up there. So it is the lightest lift we do.

Deadlifts are the heaviest lifts we do. All you have to do is pull it up off the ground until you are standing straight up. No moving it higher than that required. And so, it is heavy.

And my two numbers were 42# for a deadlift and 47# for repeated strict press. To be fair, I only managed four,  four, and three today. But years ago, I managed one deadlift at 42# and was thrilled. Like the adult walking around, I tend to forget how much work it took to get to the skills I have at my command today. I forget to be proud of the things I can do.

I’m pretty sure this is universal. For those of us who have been walking around for decades and decades, we don’t usually stop to think about how hard it was to master this skill when we were one. We simply walk, unless we run or skip or hop or any other form of moving around. For those who have had this skill stripped from them and had to relearn, there is an appreciation for walking that those of us who simply walk around do not have.

We are mindful of our new abilities, our new achievements. But life is so glorious, we probably need to take the time to appreciate the whole shebang.

487571_424993687612935_1239475745_n

