I’m trying my damnedest not to be too angry because it simply uses up energy I don’t have in great supply. But I’m so angry.

The Sport of CrossFit is all scalable. They say that all the time and I do mean ALL the time. There is even built in scaling for each and every WOD written. Well, if you look up Hero WODs, they only have the men’s version there, but it is then scaled back for women before appearing on the white board. We are aware that although women can be strong and mighty, but they are – on average – not as strong or tall or big as men.

For the last few years, CrossFit has even noticed that as we age we lose some of the strength and flexibility we once had. Our endurance may diminish as well and we are simply older than we used to be. Even Rich Froning is pushing 30 now and not in the leader position any more. Twenty-nine and already losing it.

But I am not 29. In fact, both of my children are over that age. In point of fact, 42 years ago, I was in labor for the first time and Craig was already trying to kill me. But despite the whole Preeclampsia thing and Premature birth thing, we both survived and thrived. So that’s a positive. But it does mean I’m old enough to have a Master Athlete. I actually have two of them.

In the RX portion of 17.3 there is a nod to the undeveloped talents of teens who have pull-ups and lower weighted snatches and the aging process of the 55+ crowd who also get pull-ups instead of chest to bar and lower weights with the permission to break the snatch into a power snatch and overhead squat. So if I was an RX athlete, I would get a break for being an old fart.

I am, by no stretch of the imagination, an RX athlete. Hell, I’m barely holding on to scaled athlete. I’m really a way-scaled athlete who is struggling with the discomfort of the zone in which I have placed myself.

On the plus side, I totaled up all the people sixty and over who signed up for the Open. There are about 5,000 of us worldwide. I’m already way ahead of the game. I’m in there. I’m trying my damnedest. I’m working as hard as I can way, way, way outside my comfort zone. I’m giving it all I have. So there is that.

But, what in the hell was Dave thinking? For the scaled version of this, teens, most people, and old farts all have the exact same workout. We all have jumping pull-ups and the same lessened weights for the squat snatch which every single one of us can break into a power snatch with an overhead squat. There is absolutely no difference in what is expected of a 19 year old, a 25 year old, and me, the ridiculously old fart.

As a woman in a man’s world, I’ve often been slapped upside the head with inequity. I know that old women are useless beyond all imagining. We are not the wise old rich men out there who can counsel the youngsters. We are dried up carcasses of nothing knowing less than nothing. This perception is, I believe, way off base, but it is the perception. And when an old woman looks good (see the media storm for the 63 year old gray haired model) it is news.

I have tried to maintain my place in the world. When harassed on the job, I dealt with it personally rather than going to HR or anything. I made my point and my place. I was able to be an adult in a world where it was expected that most of my adulting would be in the rearing of perfect children (males who could then go out into the world and contribute). And while I did do that part (not the perfect part), I insisted on the out in the world contribution as well. Not because I had to in order to be a worthwhile person, but because I was given enough gifts to make it possible and I felt compelled to use those gifts.

So here I am, once again, faced with inequity. And what are my choices? I must go out there and do what I can. It is unfair. It is unjust. It is totally what I’ve learned to expect from CrossFit. But I shall give it my best shot. I will do as much as I can. It will be less than the 30 and 40 year olds. It will still be more than I dreamed possible when I first walked into the box.

637f4368c692fa03840fd32500dba332

