I am scared half to death. It’s 150 dumbbell snatches and 75 burpee over the box jumps. At my advanced age, I get to use just a ten pound dumbbell and I get to do step ups on the box. So there is that to look forward to.

Always and everywhere throughout CrossFit, women’s standards are just a tiny bit less than what is expected of men. For instance, for the young and fit this workout has men using a 50 pound dumbbell and women using a 35 pound dumbbell. Men jump to or over a 24 inch box and women jump to or over a 20 inch box.

However, at my age and in the scaled division, men use a 25 pound dumbbell while I get to use a 10 pound one. They may do step ups to a 20 inch box while I may do them to a, wait for it, 20 inch box.

Admittedly, in the RX division, men my age are still compelled to use a 24 inch box and all of us over the age of 55 get to use step ups rather than jumping. People in the scaled division are “competing” for a score and not for a place at the games. Allowing older men a chance to compete for a score is nice, but why are old women the only ones who can keep up with their male peers?

This is the second time this has appeared in a competition. In the Masters Garage Games, old men and old women could both snatch a 45 pound bar while at every other age, men’s weights were higher than women’s – just like everywhere else in CrossFit.

Old women are just as enfeebled by age as old men are. Why are we all of a sudden “equal” in some aspect or other? I assume this is equipment related. In order to get people to play along, there has to be the proper equipment. My gym does have boxes that can be rotated for different heights – now. But we started out with 12, 20, and 24 inch boxes (pretty much standard heights).

With upgraded equipment we can now have 12, 16, 18, 20, 24, and 30 inch boxes. But we have always, always, always been able to stack up some weight plates and make different heights. They can be stacked from the ground up or placed on top of boxes. This is how I know I can jump to a 22 inch box and I can take my entire shin off on a missed 23 inch box. I had plates atop a 20 inch box.

Even if we didn’t have a 16 inch box available, I could make a stack of objects 16 inches high if I were allowed to have the same scaled option of box height as old men get. Hell, the plates aren’t even being used for any other part of this WOD. Instead, me and no other person at my gym aged 55 or over will be doing the same height box, regardless of gender.

I find this irritating. I find it annoying. It doesn’t do me any good to be either irritated or annoyed because the standards are what they are and I’m lucky they even have a scaled option at all and what in the hell did I expect anyway. As I’ve been told, I should knit.

Perhaps I’m focusing on this inequity in order to assuage my fears about the WOD in its entirety. Luckily there is a time cap and so I’m going to treat this as an AMRAP. I have little hope for completing 225 anythings in the allotted time, so I will see how far I can manage and be proud of whatever I can get done with my heart rate issues and 20 inch box.

There is an idea floating around the society in which I live that there is nothing more useless than an old woman. I wish CrossFit didn’t perpetuate this myth.

games-2017-logo-1600x630

