I married a golfer. I thought I knew what that meant, but I didn’t – really. He loves to golf. He loves it so much, he wanted to share the experience with me. He took me golfing. I am Irish and German and I get a sunburn in about 3.7 nanoseconds. He is part Cherokee and has to be in the sun for days before getting slightly pink. It should have stunned no one to find out I was burned after wandering around like the Jews in the desert for forty years, occasionally hitting a small white ball while all the while preferring the option of hitting the guy who brought me.

But true love is a wondrous thing and he brought me golfing a second time on a very cloudy day. After it had rained. The course was muddy. I ruined my shoes. I prefer shoes to golf by a margin of a bazillion to one. I tried one more time. I got stung by a bee. I was done with golf.

He has golfed the entire time I have known him. He isn’t a scratch golfer by any means but he enjoys his time out there. He has gotten a couple witnessed holes in one. He is out on the course three times a week and still plans special weeks where he goes even more often. He loves golf. Not as much as me. I think.

About 37 years ago, his cousin introduced him to racquetball. This is inside so no chance of sunburn or bee stings. That’s a plus. He talked me into trying this out as well. I did. I didn’t do very well that first time, but I eventually learned to read the walls and could place my shots. I was a woman’s A player and won a substantial portion of my games.

I got to play often and he didn’t. Every time we played together, I won. I could have just served and counted and won that way, but I would hit shots he could return and then he would get mad because I was letting him hit the ball. So I would smack the ball in ways he couldn’t return and then he would get mad because he wasn’t able to hit the ball. We stopped playing together.

Both of us are rather competitive. Both of us like to win. So it is much better if we don’t play at the same thing. He could win his golf match and I could win my racquetball match and we could both be happy. That worked for some time. But even the best of times, according to Charles Dickens, don’t last forever.

I have no explanation for why I love CrossFit so much. I suck at it by various measurements. I excel at it by other measurements. I show up, routinely. That’s my greatest strength. I am coachable. When I’m told “chest up” or “elbows in” I do what I’m told to the best of my abilities. I’m not going to be a competitive athlete. I have no great skill or strength other than doggedness.

I have a list of PRs that has slowing been inching upwards. And while I don’t move tons of weight at a time, I’ve moved more tons of weight than I ever would have imagined possible. I go. I try. I survive. Sometimes I cry in here. But I go back.

Our son’s gym functions quite a bit differently than mine does. I can work out in Hilton Head and be comfortable and I can do the same at home. But the culture for each box is unique. Dick has seen, repeatedly, after all the events we have volunteered at, how Conviction Training Facility works. But he has never, ever participated in a workout.

I asked him to come with me to CrossFit Summerville. He did. I warned the coach/owner that I would be bringing him. I told her what he found to be intimidating. I picked a day without weights. Mostly.

Our skill was weighted good mornings and he used a PVC pipe and then a sand filled pipe. That was fine. He could manage. Then the WOD was rowing, burpees, and double unders. We could both row without issue. We both did plank burpees. I did single unders and he jumped an imaginary rope since this was really bothering him. Two minutes for each move with a minute rest and then do that again for three rounds.

He never quit. He managed to do a 20 minute WOD and never quit. I was so proud of him. On the way home I mentioned that he owed me two more times at the box because I golfed three times. He said he did it once and that was enough.

I think it may be best this way. He has golf. I have CrossFit. We are too competitive. From experience, I know that people start out and quickly zoom past me as I struggle with heart rate and age and general suckiness. We don’t do well “enjoying” the same thing as we compete to see who is better at it.

We each need our own domain. I should let this one go and enjoy my space, my time, my success at CrossFit.

78b52b4d4a791dec416459ab6042301c

