Because of all the rain, they asked people to stay off the roads unless absolutely necessary on Monday. While I believe it is important to not cherry pick my workouts, I don’t believe I actually have to show up in a statewide emergency. So I didn’t go to the gym. Instead, I walked rapidly around the big, big block for 55 minutes. But I stopped enough to take some amazing pictures of pooled water. We didn’t get flooded out at our house, but there was lots and lots of water.

Yesterday, I did nothing. Well, I wrote a lot, but other than that, nothing. We had our Tuesday crab legs. I have one more meal of crab legs and then the freezer will be blissfully free of crab. Until I buy some more, but that’s a different story. We have so much shrimp, that’s going to have get cut back, as well.

I successfully did not look at the WOD last night. There have been snatches or overhead squats for four days in a row. I wasn’t going to let it upset me because I’ve opted to forego snatches and overhead squats until next year. But it still upsets me. I hate being old and feeble.

The whole CrossFit thing upsets me. I haven’t seen any progress in so long. I’m stagnant. Because of all the snatches and overhead squats which challenge my poor balance, I have been moving very low weights. I believe I’m weaker than I was at the beginning of the summer.

Today was Nikki, Cindy, me and a new person, Natalie. All of them are young enough to be my daughters. Kim was coaching. Nikki has been out of her initial training stuff for a couple weeks. Natalie still isn’t quite finished – she is going tomorrow for another skill lesson – but she wanted to try a class.

Today’s WOD as written:
Strength:

5,4,3,2,1 increasingly heavy high bar back squats.
Fight Gone Bad with a twist
3RFT:

Wall balls (20/14)
Kettlebell Swing (53/35)
Box jumps (24/20)
Push press (75/55)
Burpees
1 minute at each station. No programmed rest until all 5 moves are completed. 1 min rest between rounds. Score is total reps.
You can thank Chip Spalding! Requests (by other athletes) were submitted by several for no rowing or running. Burpees it is!

Luckily, Craig doesn’t read these or this would make him go crazy. Training is supposed to have some sort of plan. There should be a plan for the day, but also a plan for the short term and the long term. Just random workouts don’t create a program which shows consistent growth. We are doing a bunch of WODs that members sent in for us. Just random shit.

When I looked at this stuff today, I had a plan for the back squats. I would start at 53 and add ten pounds and end at 93. I did that. Nikki ended at 112, which is just a point of reference. It is not a comparison. I don’t believe that, either.

Kim said she was up in the middle of the night worrying about how to scale this for me. Did I want to do :30 on and :30 off? I would love to, but my heart rate wouldn’t let me do that. I thought maybe :20 on and :40 off or I could just go to a pre-determined number and then try to recoup. Kim liked that. She asked what numbers I though. I thought I should do 8 for each on the first round and then seven and six and see if I could survive that.

I used a 10# med ball, a 25# kettlebell, a 20” box, and a 33# bar. I tried to go to 9’ mark on the wall balls, did American swings, and step-ups. I had a heart rate of 112 to start.

I got my wall balls done and had a heart rate of 159. I did box breathing and was ready for the kettlebell swings, I could get my heart rate down for the step-ups, but as I sat there panting, I thought to myself what the hell was I thinking? I created a new strategy. I did the eight step-ups and then did my best to get my heart rate down. I did 16 push press. That was my 40 reps I was counting on. I skipped the burpees. Then I had a little over two minutes for a break.

My heart rate was in the 140s to start this time, but I thought I might be able to get eights again anyway. I did on the wall balls and kettlebell swings. I had been really tired with that many push press, so I figured I could do 10 step-ups and then only have 14 push press. So I did that. My heart rate was 180 when I stopped and climbed at least to 182 before I stopped looking. I had a two minute rest because I again skipped the burpees.

I wanted to get to 40 again for the third round. I got the eight wall balls, but the kettlebell swings were easier and I did 12 so I had half the reps done. I did ten step-ups and then 10 push press. Then I panted like a lizard on a hot rock. I got up to 180 again, but I didn’t see it go over. There was still time left. My heart rate was down to 166 so with the last 30 seconds I did modified burpees and got seven in. My score was 127 and my heart rate was 175.

Kim’s score earlier today was 248. Cindy got 216 and was so ticked. She should have done better. She wasn’t feeling good and yet, she should have been able to tie her friend and her score was terrible and on and on she went. I sat there with a score almost 100 points less. I wish I could report how much the other girls got, but I don’t remember. There was so much written about what they used, that I didn’t notice a score, but I’m sure it was higher than mine even for the brand new person.

It was my best work. And that’s all I had.

983669_1430762710507578_5688911916523660187_n

