We were away for three days and I missed a workout. To replace it. We walked on a path that was .83 miles out and so that far back and we then went to swim laps and I did a half mile there. Otherwise, we mostly ate a lot. Story of my life.

We were visiting a 55 and older community to see if we could like it and they had several fitness areas and I kept looking for free weights. There were dumbbells but no bars and plates. One little old lady I spoke with asked me what I wanted them for and I told her I lifted. She was very worried about my health and told me I would hurt myself and was especially concerned about my knees. So I squatted for her to show her my knees were fine. And she skeptically asked if I did that and I said I did, but with 100# on my back. She scowled at me and said, “You should sew or knit.” I said, “I do.” She did not know what to do with me.

I got to the box this morning and it was Kat and me with Kim coaching. We went out on a run while the private class before us finished up. We came back and they were still not done so we gave ourselves something else to do. By then Kim was ready to work with us and the other folks were leaving.

We warmed up and then got ready for the day.

Today’s WOD as written:
Strength:
OHS 5-4-3-4-5
Work to heavy, but do not compromise form. Reduce weight as reps increase if form is compromised.
WOD:
6 min AMRAP

9 Deadlifts (155/103)
7 power cleans
5 ring dips
Core Work:
1 min plank
1 min bicycle
1 min flutter kicks
30 ab mat sit ups

My goal for the overhead squats was 27, 32, 37 but it didn’t work out that way. I did 27 okay, but the 32 was bad and I nearly dropped the last rep on my head. But I gamely tried the 37 because I know I can do that, but today, I couldn’t. So I didn’t and managed another 3 at 32 and backed down to 27 and 22 and finished them out.

I wasn’t sure what to do about the WOD. I wanted to do 53# but the 7 cleans were going to really slow me down. I would have to halve them and then it would suck up all my time sitting. Kim said to do 7-5-3 for the reps and see how that worked. I did the ring dips from a box to help with time, too.

I had a heart rate of just over 100 before we began and so did the whole first round without stopping and only had a heart rate of 160 after the whole thing. But then I did some box breathing to get it low enough to get the deadlifts done.

I did that and had to wait get it down to do the cleans. I managed all five but the fifth one was only because it was one more. Then I had to box breathe and then do the dips and then just rest a little to get the next deadlifts. If I could get my heart rate down to 145, I could get the cleans done but it is so hard to be patient and box breathe when time is ticking away. I got the cleans done with the last one being a challenge again. I did the dips.

There wasn’t much time left. I got my heart rate down to 150 and managed the deadlifts. There was only five seconds on the clock. My heart rate was high, but I could rest when I was done. So I got two more cleans in before time was called for a score of 3+9.

We got stuff put away and then were ready for that core work stuff. I held a plank for 45 seconds which is longer than I can normally manage. I did bicycle crap in one spurt, rest, and go again. I tried flutter kicks and it hurts my back because I really don’t have much core strength at all. I know this. It is part of being an old fart. Then I did the 30 seconds of sit-ups and could RX that whole thing.

It was disappointing to not my make my goal weights on the overhead squats but it was gratifying to be able to do the weight I wanted for the WOD. Win some; lose some.

ab06af88415dbab9e0a50ab117fe2683

