I don’t know why it is so difficult to do what I know is good for me. But it is. I just can’t seem to make myself do more than show up for a class and I know that isn’t enough. The idea of doing something at home is enough to make me want to curl up in a ball and weep.

I hate to run. I may have mentioned that once or twice. I figured a good way to interval train would be to swim laps. There is a pool in our neighborhood which is supported by the HOA fees we pay every damn year. I think I’ve been to the pool a total of five times in eleven years. But, Dick said he would go with me and I could swim laps and rest and swim and rest. That was the plan. It began to thunderstorm around noon. We never made it to the pool.

Then I needed to mobilize and drink water. I hate to drink water, too. I can drink coffee all day long, but apparently that doesn’t count as water. Tea does. It doesn’t even have to be caffeine free tea. It just has to be tea. I don’t know why. It was getting close to 4 PM, my reward time. I still had most of the water I was supposed to have been drinking all day conveniently still in the bottle instead of in me. And I had to mobilize.

Mobilization doesn’t seem so bad when I’m a bit stiff or sore. I know what to work on and what to try to smooth out. When I’m feeling pretty good, it just seems like an exercise in futility. I do realize that even when I’m “pretty good” there are knots everywhere and plenty I could work on, but it is a struggle to get out of the chair and do it. I don’t know why. It isn’t like I’m pressed for time or rushing between deadlines. I’m retired and have nothing scheduled. It was only because I really wanted coffee that I finally managed to do ten lousy minutes of mobilization. And guzzle the water. I got my coffee.

Today, there were three of us at the box. Leslie, Kat, and me with Betsy coaching. It was still rainy this morning which meant the gym was a bit on the humid side. We warmed up with man makers, of all things. What a disgusting thing to happen. But we did them and some other stuff and then we were declared warm.

Today’s WOD as written:
Baseline Testing Week

Test your chosen gymnastic skills and post your scores. Compare to your original goals and show your progress.
HSPU
Pistol Squat
Rope Climb

Pull Up
Muscle Up
Handstand Walk
Box Jump

then
Baseline WOD
EMOM until you cannot complete the clean (fully extended knees & hips) by the time the clock hits :00 for the next minute perform the following:
1 Burpee
1 Clean (135/95)
2 Burpees
1 Clean
3 Burpees
1 Clean
4 Burpees
1 Clean
5 Burpees
1 Clean
etc.

I have been working on pull-ups. I knew that my goal was to be able to get five singles with just the blue band. It is 1.25 inches. There are some new bands the same size. They are not the same tensile strength. I could not pull myself up even one with the new purple bands but with the old semi-frayed blue band, I got my five singles. I did some jumping pull-ups, too. I tried one without any band. I may have moved upwards a millimeter or two, but not more than that.

And then this disgusting workout. The first time I did it, I got through round 6 and quit. Then second time I got through round 7. Betsy thought maybe today I could get through 8; I knew that wasn’t happening. I used only a 42# bar for the cleans.

I sat around long enough that my heart rate was 104, the lowest I think I have ever seen it just before a WOD. And then I stood up at the bar and it was already up to 122 and I hadn’t even started anything yet.

By the end of the third round, my heart rate was 154 as I finished the clean but I still had over 30 seconds to get it back down to something more reasonable for a starting point. By the end of the fifth round, I was 164 as I ended and then it climbed some more. At the end of the sixth round, I was at 174 and only had ten seconds before it was time to start again.

I waited until ten seconds after and began and got the walking in and out burpees done with five seconds to spare. Enough time to get the clean done. My heart rate was 178 and I don’t know how high it climbed after I stopped as I was too busy panting.

I had my cold, refrigerated wet cloth and it felt absolutely wonderful to cool down with it. I could also wash all the dirt off my knees since my plan was to go directly to the grocery store from the box. I looked like death warmed over, but at least I didn’t look like dirty death warmed over. I was so hungry I purchased a box of granola bars and ate one while I was shopping.

I hit my goals for today. It wasn’t pretty, but I made it.

90081b68227d11e3bf5922000a1f8cdc_7.jpg

