I had a relaxing day yesterday after my interval training. I met Kim for lunch and we worked on learning to crochet. The entire trick is keeping the tension steady on the yarn. It was odd to have our roles reversed, but I can RX crochet. Now, if I could just RX anything else.

I have really been doing my mobilization daily and I’ve been drinking more water each day. These two things are helping with my equilibrium. I’m sure they are better for me than not doing them. I’m also sure that as soon as I take away my bribe or payoff, I will quit again. Why is it so hard to do what we know is good for us? Especially when it isn’t even difficult.

I’ve also been eating too much. I know better. My weight has inched (pun intended) back up and I’m feeling fat and bloated. I haven’t been eating anything really bad, but I have been eating more less than great food. Pasta salad is delicious and not evil, but it isn’t the healthiest choice I could make. I have eaten pounds of cherries so far this season and a whole watermelon – over the course of just a few days. Too much of even a good thing is a bad thing.

I looked at the WOD last night and it wasn’t there. I looked over and over and finally gave up and shut the computer down for the night. I didn’t have to obsess over the work since I had no idea what it was.

Kat wasn’t there today so it was just me and Betsy. She did the WOD with me so I didn’t have to be there alone. I was talking to her about my interval training and the pathetic showing my heart makes. We watched my too high resting heart rate and I walked across the gym and back and had an even higher heart rate even though it was not exertion, per se.

We began our warm-up with a row and then did some other things to get ready for squats.

Today’s WOD as written:
Week 8/8

Warm up your entire body thoroughly
percentages based off 90% of your 1RM
(always choose a lighter weight when unsure)
rest 3-5 minutes between sets
DELOAD WEEK – Do not do more than 5 reps on the last set
Squat –
5 @ 40%
5 @ 50%
5 @ 60%
Post entire workout!
then
Parking Lot Shuttle Runs
Five rounds
Every two minutes
then
Tabata Abs
remember your movement and let it whip

I did the math for the back squats and my numbers were 42, 52, and 62# and I did five of each. Chip came in with Ella while we were doing these. Ella is about 3 or 4 months old and Chip is her dad. Cindy watches Ella while her parents work and the drop off site is the box. He was early today. He noticed I’m looking down instead of keeping my head neutral during my squats and that it collapses me forward. I will work on it.

I had no idea what that second part of this was because it looked to me like I was running for ten minutes. I do not run for ten minutes. Ever. I can’t live through that. I can walk for ten minutes without a problem. But this was a parking lot sprint every two minutes with a rest in between. Interval training. A parking lot sprint – stopping before you get run over by cars – is about 75 meters. If you go to the sign, it’s 100 meters but then you might get run over which is really going to mess with your time.

I decided I could do this as written. My runs were 24, 23, 23, 23, and 22 seconds each. My heart rate was ridiculous. It was 145, 157, 134, 159, and 158 at the end of each run. I obviously wasn’t a ball of fire on the run and my heart rate went high and stayed high for the better part of a minute. I could even sit and box breathe and it still took really long to come down. I have no idea what that 134 was doing in there.

We then did a Tabata with sit-ups and I got 8 for all eight rounds. Then it was time to go home.

I guess I RXd today. I did it exactly as written. Ha.

2f3f598e317244028700c50c5449b574

