I have not yet attained the level of fitness I would desire. I want to have a stronger heart which allows me to meet more of my goals. I also would like stronger biceps and quads, but I think the most important muscle to improve is my heart. I’m working on it. Apparently not hard enough.

I went to a flow yoga class on Saturday morning. I knew it would be much different from Tuesday’s experience. It was. I was melting about halfway through and was so grateful when we got to the cool down part. My balance is remarkably better than when I began doing CrossFit. I couldn’t hold some of the more difficult poses. Maybe someday. Not today. I need to practice this set of skills as well.

Sunday, I walked a 5K which is to say I walked instead of drove up to the grocery store. The dumbest part of my walk was not starting earlier and thereby spending most of my walk home in direct sunlight unlike my walk to the store in blissful shade. There is simply no accounting for rampant stupidity. I was awake, I just wanted to have coffee first. So I walked in the hot sun.

Today is Memorial Day. A day to honor those who died to protect freedom and to live under the red, white, and blue Star Spangled Banner rather than the British, German, Japanese, Russian, or Mexican flags. I am grateful for their sacrifice to provide me with choices beyond dreams.

CrossFit honors heroes by creating Hero WODs in their names. It is traditional here to do Murphy on this day. It is what we did today.

Today’s WOD as written:
“Murph”
For time:
1 mile Run
100 Pull-ups
200 Push-ups
300 Squats
1 mile Run

In memory of Navy Lieutenant Michael Murphy, 29, of Patchogue, N.Y., who was killed in Afghanistan June 28th, 2005.

This workout was one of Mike’s favorites and he’d named it “Body Armor”. From here on it will be referred to as “Murph” in honor of the focused warrior and great American who wanted nothing more in life than to serve this great country and the beautiful people who make it what it is.

Partition the pull-ups, push-ups, and squats as needed. Start and finish with a mile run. If you’ve got a twenty pound vest or body armor, wear it.

I am not a hero. I did a half Murph and split it into ten rounds. I did 5 jumping pull-ups, 10 inclined push-ups, and 15 squats. I walked the half mile before and after. It took me 46.07 which is longer than last year’s time, but I did ring rows and wormy push-ups last year.

It was inspiring to watch people who came together today to work as a group to honor not just Michael Murphy but all of our fallen military heroes. The ability to work in unison, to support each other, to help encourage each other, these are things the military teaches. I was happy to be a part of this event.

My wish is to live in such a way that those who died to make sure I was given this remarkable freedom can know they did not die in vain.

10407943_10207005578842858_4095133929554468994_n

