We had a wonderful weekend and I got to go to my first ballet recital ever. Francesca was wonderful, of course, and the entire program was darling. There is simply nothing better than a bunch of young ladies striving for athleticism and beauty. They were awesome.

We went out to eat after the performance and I got to talk to Craig about my whole heart rate situation. He suggested interval training and I will do it, but I don’t have much hope for liking it. I hate to run even if it is just for 30 seconds at a time. I also have to get some sort of timer on my phone that will beep at me for the intervals and since they aren’t all the same amount of time, this is going to be a trick. I know there has to be something out there.

He also suggested I do some yoga. Something gentle to help with concentration and relaxation as well as controlled breathing patterns. I’ve looked into that. There is a relatively local place I can try.

I looked at the WOD last night and just sighed. It’s all too much. It’s all scalable and I always manage. But it is too much. It is all way too much.

I thought I was going to be all alone today because I beat Kat there, but she was just later than me. We warmed up and were declared ready to work.

Today’s WOD as written:
Week 7/8

Last loading week of the second cycle. Time to work for the reps. Do NOT add more weight than prescribed. The goal is to make slow incremental progress to build strength.
Warm up your entire body thoroughly
percentages based off 90% of your 1RM
(always choose a lighter weight when unsure)
rest 3-5 minutes between sets
perform as many reps as possible on the last (+ set)
Press –
5 @ 75%
3 @ 85%
1+ @ 95%
Post entire workout – 5 @ 75# / 3 @ 85# / 4 @ 95#
then
for time:
21 Hang Power Cleans (135/95)
21 Pull-ups
21 Calorie Row
15 Hang Power Snatches
15 Pull-ups
21 Calorie Row
9 Thrusters
9 Pull-ups
21 Calorie Row

So there I was with the calculator again, trying to figure out what weights I was supposed to be working with today. I did 5 at 37#, 3 at 42# and 2 at 47# and thought I might get the third one but some heavy hand came and laid it atop my bar and it wouldn’t go up again. Kat had the same problem on her third heavy lift.

I added everything up because apparently the 45 reps of a 21-15-9 weren’t enough, we had to add the damn calorie row. That was 153 reps. Too much for this old fart. First thing I did with this hot mess was go 18-12-6 just like a master’s WOD. My rep scheme was 82% of the young people’s WOD and that was more than enough for me.

My second problem was the weight. I can’t do 95# for any of those things. But I can do more weight on my cleans and thrusters than on my snatches. My one rep max on a snatch was 27#. Kim said to use two different bars and just do a 33# for the cleans and thrusters (just like in the Open thrusters) and use a 22# for the snatches. I did.

Quite frankly, if I was braver, what I would have done was lower the rep scheme even farther and used heavier weights. I could have managed 42# on the cleans and thrusters. I might have been able to do a 33# bar for the snatch. I would have at least tried. But I’m always so damn slow anyway that loading the bar heavier just makes me worse.

I had two bands available for the pull-ups, but started with just one and used the second when I got cranky.

I managed all 18 cleans without stopping because the bar was so light and I began with a lower heart rate. But even so, I was at 132 before I started. This is absurd. I was at 172 when I finished so it took a while to get my heart rate down enough to do pull-ups. I used the one band and got about half way. I used the one band again and only got a few more. I rested more and used both bands and finished.

Then the slogging through a row. I am not efficient on this in any way, shape, or form. It takes me 3-4 pulls per calorie and even with that, my heart rate was 172 when I finished so I had to sit and box breathe and work on getting my heart rate down enough to try some snatches. I was hoping for three sets of 4 but I managed to get 7 done before I had to stop. This is why I think I could have managed 33# but then I would have gotten the four and had to stop twice and taken even longer – unless I dropped the reps even more. But I got the other five and finished that part.

My pull-ups were with both bands. I got 9 and simply couldn’t finish out the last three. But I only paused to regroup and reset my hands and then finished them. Then back to slogging out the calorie row.

Kat was finished with the whole thing when I was finishing my second rowing crap. My heart rate was way too high and I wanted to get the thrusters done without having to stop. So I waited and did box breathing and waited and breathed some more and got a heart rate down to 150 finally. I got all six thrusters but then my heart rate was 176.

So I had to wait and wait and box breathe and wait and finally got a heart rate where I thought I could manage six pull-ups. I did. Then I had to row some more and I finally finished in 18.23.

One of these days, I’m going to watch how long I spend resting and figure out how much I’m actually working instead of how much I’m just tachycardic.

723958589d26e11f5ca98c12d85724ea

 

