I was not as sore from Wednesday as I had thought I would be. I had some problems from the sit-ups but nothing else was actually hurting. I got a twinge every now and then from my quads due to the air squats, but that was really mild. I was assuming I would be one ball of pain and I wasn’t. That’s a plus. That is pretty much the only plus I’ve got right now.

Today was a long day at the box. I looked at it last night. I groaned. I moaned. I internally whined only because there was no one right next to me to externally whine to. But there was whining. I looked up the times I’ve already done this. I thought about it. It was still horrible.

I slept soundly and woke refreshed and got some coffee. So far so good. I eventually had to get ready for the “fun” day and had a banana and my protein drink. It was a blissful 65 ⁰F which was better than it has been in the mornings. I noticed even Ryan wasn’t able to finish the workout. Just great.

I arrived with a plan and Ryan was still there. I said I was doing sets of ten because I wanted to get to all the moves. I would have a time cap and get as far as I could. He said that was a brilliant idea and told Kim and she thought it was a great thing and so we would all do it that way and she told later coaches to also offer it.

We warmed up, but not too long because there was a lot to do today.

Today’s WOD as written:
Week 6/8

Do NOT add more weight than prescribed. The goal is to make slow incremental progress to build strength.
Warm up your entire body thoroughly
percentages based off 90% of your 1RM
(always choose a lighter weight when unsure)
rest 3-5 minutes between sets
perform as many reps as possible on the last (+ set)
Squat –
3 @ 70%
3 @ 80%
3+ @ 90%
Post entire workout – 3 @ 70# / 3 @ 80# / 6 @ 90#
then
Filthy Fifty
For time:
50 Box jump, 24 inch box
50 Jumping pull-ups
50 Kettlebell swings, 1 pood
Walking Lunge, 50 steps
50 Knees to elbows
50 Push press, 45 pounds
50 Back extensions
50 Wall ball shots, 20 pound ball
50 Burpees
50 Double unders

Because adding the ten pounds and then taking 90% essentially puts me at my one rep max, I figured out both numbers – with and without the ten pounds – and then picked the weight in between. My weights for back squats were 68, 78, and 88 and I got 3, 3, and 4 so that part wasn’t too bad.

Facebook had a video about locking your shoes when you tie them by using that extra hole and loops and stuff. My CrossFit shoe has that. My higher heeled shoe does not. So, I had one shoe locked and one shoe tied normally and it made a difference. My locked in foot did not slide forward. Amazing. A life hack thing that worked as advertised. I put my regular shoe back on for Filthy Fifty.

The numbers are all boy things without the scaled girl numbers offered. Doesn’t matter because I did less anyway. I used a 14” box and did step ups. I did jumping pull-ups. I did Russian kettlebell swings using 25#. I did walking lunges and knees as high as I could get them. My push press was 22# and I did supermans instead of back extensions. Wall balls were with 10# to an 8’ mark. Burpees were without a push-up and that helped tremendously. No single unders allowed so I had to do a jump to touch a bar and I have no idea why that’s a sub because it was easy. We were given a 25 minute cap since that’s all the time we had left.

My heart rate was so high so often that I spent most of the time box breathing. I got the step-ups and jumping pull-ups done before I had to rest but my heart rate was 170 by that time. I would get it down to what I figured it needed to be to get all ten moves of the next things without stopping. I did that and worked ten moves and rested, over and over and over again.

The last time I did this, I managed to do a Dirty Thirty in 30.48. Doing all the moves together throws in the added bonus of muscle fatigue. Breaking it into sets of ten let you move from thing to thing without that fatigue. And still I sucked. I managed 2+33. I have no idea what to do about my heart rate. I keep going to the gym. I keep pushing. I keep box breathing. I keep doing everything I know to do and the one muscle that seems to not have done anything in 2.5 years is the one that really is the basis for everything else. My heart.

I don’t know how to train to fix this. My resting heart rate isn’t even really low enough. I start the WOD with a heart rate of 120 or 130 which is already too high. Then I zoom off the charts and past what the cardiologist recommended. Not too far past, but I can’t be stopping all the time.

I don’t know why this continues to happen. I have no idea what the etiology is, the underlying causes for this, or the fix. I only know it is disheartening. My arms and legs could push farther, but my heart cannot. And so I sit. And box breathe and hate the whole thing.

31519939721984b3c11d9a215b67a1c1

