Our weekend was delightful. I decided I have another life challenge to meet. I don’t drink enough water. So, I have decided that to get my afternoon coffee, I have to have done my mobilization and had one full water bottle of water. Then I can have coffee. It worked on Saturday. On Sunday, we went to a party at the other grandma’s house for Mother’s Day and I didn’t do anything I was supposed to do. I napped in the car and as soon as we got home, I made my coffee and barely got through the rest of the evening.

I decided this morning that my gym bag is much more bag than I need. I don’t carry that much stuff to the box and back. I need my gloves and my extra higher shoe. I have a knee brace and wrist straps, just in case. That’s it. I carry my phone and my wallet. I store my keys while there. I tried a regular sized backpack and even that was too big.

I packed up an old purse/backpack thing and everything fit. I even got my small towel in there without a problem along with some tape for when the bar rubs my hands too much. It all worked and off I went to the gym. It was 71 ⁰F already when I left the house. I remember complaining about how cold it was and how I needed mittens. Life goes on.

It was me and Kat today. We began with a 400 meter run and I did 300 because what the heck. I don’t do 400 but I can do more than 200. We did some other stuff and got ready for the day’s work. And of course, I had issues. I did the math with the help of Google last night. If I add 5# to my one rep max and then take 90% of that number to figure my lifts, I’m almost at my one rep max. My max was 52 and the 90% of 57 is 51. That’s just not what was intended, in my opinion. Last week I upped my weights some, but not all the way.

Today’s WOD as written:
Week 5/8
Thus begins the second week of the second cycle. Do NOT add more weight than prescribed. The goal is to make slow incremental progress to build strength.
Warm up your entire body thoroughly
percentages based off 90% of your 1RM
(always choose a lighter weight when unsure)
rest 3-5 minutes between sets
perform as many reps as possible on the last (+ set)
Press –
3 @ 70%
3 @ 80%
3+ @ 90%
Post entire workout – 3 @ 70# / 3 @ 80# / 6 @ 90#
then
AMRAP in 10 minutes:
10 ring dips
1 clean & jerk double (heavy)
10 pull ups
1 clean & jerk double (heavy)
Scale the ring dips and pull ups to a number or a band that allows you to complete the reps in one unbroken set for each movement. Choose a weight challenging enough to make you stop and think about your entire lift (set up, form, power) before you jump on the bar. It should not be a touch and go lift. It should be too heavy for that. 90% plus of your 1RM. Focus on high speed reps for the gymnastics movements and quickly changing focus to heavy lifting while fatigued.

Last week, I got 42# up, but not the 5 times. Today was only 3 lifts which I made with the 42# last week. I wanted to know if I should stick at the same weight and see if I could get 4 or go higher. We decided I would stay at the same weights and see. I did 33, 37, and 42#. I got 3, 3, and 4 so I hit my target. I tried 5 and couldn’t push it up. I worked to failure.

And then … more issues. First of all, I wanted to know what in the hell a clean and jerk double was. I looked it up and couldn’t find anything. It is two clean and jerks with a touch and go.

Then I was supposed to try and lift while fatigued. This is not my strong suit. In fact, it’s not even my weak suit. I don’t do much at all except pant when I’m fatigued. So I asked what the goal was. Then I asked about weight. I want to try stuff with heavier weights, but then I have to deal with the whole heart rate thing that just gets out of control. What to do?

My one rep max is 62# for a clean and jerk. I usually use a 42# bar for this type of stuff, but I was fairly certain I could be a big girl and use 53#. But I didn’t know about doing two at a higher weight while being fatigued. I could have gotten to 53, but I actually got lazy (who knew?) and practiced with the 42# bar and then just added ten pounds so my bar was 52# for the clean and jerk.

My goal was to get the ring dips and then a single clean and jerk, rest, get the pull-ups and the single clean and jerk and rest for one round. I did exactly half and called it Legend level. Five ring dips, one clean and jerk, rest, five pull-ups, one clean and jerk, rest.

And when I went to get my gloves for the pull-ups, I found that I did not get them put into this new bag. I had to do pull-ups with my bare hands. Luckily there was only five at a time and so I managed without weeping.

As I got to the second clean and jerk in the second round, I had sweat dripping into my face and was steaming hot. I ripped off my shirt. This is one of the perks of being old. No one cares what I look like. I’m not supposed to be anything except old. It is somewhat freeing. It wasn’t that much cooler without my shirt, but somewhat better.

I have a policy about lifting any weight over my head when my heart rate is over 170. However, I had to break it today. There were only seconds left. I needed one more clean and jerk to get 4 rounds done. I wanted that, so throwing caution to the winds, I also threw the bar overhead. I managed to control it and get it back on the ground with 4 seconds left. I was hoping for 3 rounds and so surpassed my goal on this one.

7339afb1aa8ea5c76d557bf3b99c856b

