I have been doing CrossFit for over 2.5 years. I have been defeated and I have won at it, not by doing anything other than showing back up after a defeat. If I never fail, it means I never try anything new or outside my comfort zone. I have had lots of support and inspiration both at the box and from the band of CrossFitters who inhabit the blogosphere.

I would like to introduce you to one of my inspirations. She has recovered from injury (and I can’t tell you how often I use her as an example for people at my box who are hurt) and she has recovered from failure, a soul-crushing defeat. Not the loss of a lift, but the loss of one she considered a friend but who turned out to be just an asshole. That’s the nicest thing I can say about this asshole who hurt someone I have come to really, really like and admire.

We are a small group of like-minded people in the CrossFit world and Warrior Girl had to give up CrossFit after her injury. But she didn’t give up lifting and she didn’t give up her dream. She succeeded and I couldn’t be happier if it had been me who succeeded, because her joy is so pure and sweet I have shared it with the link above.

Today, Betsy was coach and she brought Scott with her. He warmed up with us, but then did other stuff while we did back squats and the EMOM. He practiced handstand walks and then wanted to try his hand at the bear. It is an awesome workout.

So working today was Kim, Kat, and the odd man out with a different starting letter – me.

Today’s WOD as written:
Week 5/8

We are starting the second 5/3/1 cycle this week. For your upper body movements (press/floor press) increase your weights by 5 lbs and for the lower body movements (deadlift/squat) increase your weights by 10 lbs. Do NOT add more weight than prescribed. The goal is to make slow incremental progress to build strength.
Warm up your entire body thoroughly
percentages based off 90% of your 1RM
(always choose a lighter weight when unsure)
rest 3-5 minutes between sets
perform as many reps as possible on the last (+ set)
Squat –
5 @ 65%
5 @ 75%
5+ @ 85%
Post entire workout – 5 @ 65# / 5 @ 75# / 9 @ 85#
then
Week 1 re-test
EMOM for 5 rounds (one movement per round):
30 seconds of box step ups then jog to the far end of the sidewalk
1 way parking lot sprint (focus effort here on efficient start and increasing effort each round)
2 more reps than last week of your abdominal movement Tabata single round score. Make them unbroken and performed quickly.
Post each rounds step up reps/sprint second/ab reps. The goal of this WOD is to maintain consistent reps and decreasing sprint time each round.

I did lots of math stuff. We are to add 10# to our one rep max and then take 90% and then take the other percentages. The first time I did this, the weights were 60, 70, and 80. I don’t know what slow incremental progress is supposed to be, but ten percent seems more than slow. My weights as calculated (because I start with a low weight) were 67, 77, and 87 which was not where I was happy going.

Wendler can probably do much higher back squats weight and adding ten pounds and then figuring it out wouldn’t be much of an increase. For me, it is. I’m not trying to be a weenie nor am I trying to be a hero. I just want to survive the lifts and get more awesome. So far; so good. I changed the weighs to 65, 75, and 85 which was still an increase and still a lot of increase, but something I didn’t feel overwhelmed by.

I got my warm-up sets done and then got 5, 5, and 6 and ended with a heart rate of 169 which may have been why I was so damn happy to put the bar back on the rack. At the lower weight four weeks ago, I had to stop at 6, too and my heart rate was 168 so I guess I am doing a bit better after all.

I had all my numbers for the conditioning portion of the WOD and knew what I did last time. I used a 12” box with a 10# plate on top so I kept that. I didn’t run for many reasons all of them valid or excuses but whatever the reasons were, they are still valid or simply excuses. I didn’t run. What are they going to do? Fire me? Ha! Then finally, last time I did 10 sit-ups and this time I wanted one more.

So I set up exactly the same and did 16 step-ups each time which was more consistent than last time (15, 15, 17, 16, 16) and the sit-ups at 11 for each round. I remember doing 60 sit-ups and having a horrible weekend because my stomach was so sore. Then I did 50 sit-ups and didn’t have a problem. It will be interesting to see if I have another horrible weekend or if 55 is also not past the point of pain.

As we were getting done, DeWayne came in for open gym. We had the entire Masters Team there. It was so good to see him and be able to personally congratulate him – he is going to the CrossFit Games in California. Another success story.

I have also made it one full week with mobilizing each and every day and so far, I’m happy with myself. I know it helps me not stiffen up as much. And for an old coot, that’s half the battle. Now if I could just do something about the consistently high heart rate.

11d2746661f918363a8a9537972997db

