We had an internet outage on Saturday. Someone working overnight dug into all manner of infrastructure, including our internet cable. The television worked, the internet and phones did not. We were without access for about 17 hours. During this time, we had to fend for ourselves. We went to the Farmers Market in the morning.

By about 2 PM we decided to walk up to where all the major trucks were working to see if there was some hope of restoring service. I knew I was not wearing good walking shoes, but shoes that I wear frequently. The walk was about 2.5 miles. My shoes lasted for about 1.7 miles and then for the last .8 miles I was in trouble. I was getting blisters so I took off socks to see if it would help. It didn’t. I walked barefoot. The sidewalk was hot and eventually the soles of me feet were ouchie. But I wasn’t home yet. I stepped on something that ripped the curly part of my fourth toe. The “burned” part of me feet has healed up. The torn ragged hole in my toe has not. It still hurts to walk. But lifting isn’t done from the toes.

After 100 push-ups, my neck, shoulders, arms – entire upper body – was stiff and sore. I have managed to take ten minutes to mobilize each day to get my afternoon coffee. I have done some other stretching throughout the day. I was still a little tight going into the box.

I looked at the WOD last night and just got pissed. I understand a Wendler cycle and the need to be a superjock. I also understand math which doesn’t seem to be the epitome of necessary tools for a superjock. So once again, instead of just percentages, which would even the playing field between those same superjocks and the rest of us weenies, there was an added “just” thing that was totally inappropriate.

I did the math. Well, Google did. I just entered the data. If I were to add “just” five pounds to my weights, I would be adding first 16%, then 14%, and then 12% to my numbers. Really? That’s a “just”? I understand that real athletes have higher weights to start and adding just five pounds is really “just” five pounds. But my weights are so low, that it is not “slow incremental progress”. One-sixth of the weight is not a little bit.

If, instead, the numbers began with a higher percentage of the one rep max weight and then figured from that, it would be equitable across all types of athletes. If we were to figure from 95% of one rep max instead of from 90% of one rep max, we would all be going from the same place again. But jocks don’t seem to understand that everyone isn’t at the same level. Rather than overkill for the Little Old Lady, I’m just upping my weights by beginning with a 95% of my one rep max to figure my weights. It is more equitable and more doable.

Today, Kim and Ryan will return from a weekend concert in North Carolina. There was no coach today, but the gym was open for us. Kat and I worked together, deciding on our warm-up and doing enough while compensating for my boo-boo foot.

Today’s WOD as written:
Week 5/8
We are starting the second 5/3/1 cycle this week. For your upper body movements (press/floor press) increase your weights by 5 lbs and for the lower body movements (deadlift/squat) increase your weights by 10 lbs. Do NOT add more weight than prescribed. The goal is to make slow incremental progress to build strength.
Warm up your entire body thoroughly
percentages based off 90% of your 1RM
(always choose a lighter weight when unsure)
rest 3-5 minutes between sets
perform as many reps as possible on the last (+ set)
Press –
5 @ 65%
5 @ 75%
5+ @ 85
Post entire workout – 5 @ 65# / 5 @ 75# / 9 @ 85#
then
Re-Test Week 1 WOD (Are you FASTER than 4 weeks ago?)
5 rounds for time:
10 ring dips
10 pull ups
20 air squats
1 minute rest
scale movements to the point where each set of each movement can be performed unbroken without kipping and maintaining a steady pace.
Post time to complete each round (not including the minute of rest). Try to maintain a 10% +/- average pace. The goal for this WOD is to learn your average pace and reduce the average not blow out one fast round and tank.

The weights I worked with today were 32, 37, and 42# which was 2-3 pounds higher than the first time through.

My goal was to get 7 on the 42# but the lifts were really difficult. I was having putting the 37# up. I don’t really know why because it isn’t that heavy. I got three on the 42# and that was all I could manage.

I looked up what I did last time for this and it was 7/7/15. I used a blue band for the ring dips and both a green and red band for the pull-ups. The likelihood of my bettering my time in four weeks is pretty much nil. I have been struggling with my heart rate for over 2.5 years now and it is still too high too often. But I’m an outlier and I have to remember that while CrossFit is for everyone and it is all scalable, writing WODs is not. My goals have to be my goals. Craig linked to a video with a CT Fletcher screaming about ISYMFS  or “it’s still your mother fucking’ set”. I’m working as hard as I can and doing more than I ever thought I would. That’s good enough.

I woke up at 5.30 this morning and most of the above was written before I even went to the gym. Especially the preceding paragraph. I need to emphasize that. I set up exactly like last time. I used the exact same bands. My old times were 1.31, 2.13. 2.07, 2.26, 2.00.

Today, with the weeks of pull-ups behind me, I had no problem getting the seven done. I was nearly getting chest to bar on the first few rounds. I didn’t need to pause at all between the pull-ups and squats. I did pause each time between the ring dips and the pull-ups and got my heart rate down to 155 before starting the pull-ups. Then I would just deep breathe while I did the squats. My times were 1.21, 1.25, 1.32, 1.31, 1.33. I had no intention of getting any better in just four weeks. In fact, I did – at least on this part. I could be very sad about the push press or I could be very happy about the conditioning. I choose happy.

b5ab3d5af7333c37d2b78284a87800f4

