I looked at the weather last night before I looked at the WOD. Then I checked out the WOD to make sure there was no running involved. There was something like a 100% chance of rain all day. I hate running all by itself. In the rain is just so much worse. Luckily, there was no running. Even if there had been, it is my day to go to the box and I don’t cherry pick. I whine and substitute.

My arms were quite smoked yesterday and I spent quite a bit of time stretching and trying to get them to stop hurting. Since I did some work yesterday, they were a tad better today.

We began with a 1000 meter row and that was fine. Next up, bear crawl the length of the mat. That was a bit ouchy when I started but by the end of the mat, my arms were feeling a bit better. We did some other stuff and then began the work of the day.

Today’s WOD as written:
Week 4/8
Gymnastic Skill/Strength/Mobility Practice – spend 20 minutes working on your gymnastic movement chosen last week. Ask your coach for specific mobility exercises, skill practice movements, or strength movements to help you reach your goal.
Post work performed.
HSPU
Pistol Squat
Rope Climb

Pull Up
Muscle Up
Handstand Walk
Box Jump

then
Baseline WOD Redux – try to beat your score!
EMOM until you cannot complete the clean (fully extended knees & hips) by the time the clock hits :00 for the next minute perform the following:
1 Burpee
1 Clean (135/95)

2 Burpees
1 Clean

3 Burpees
1 Clean
etc.

I warmed up with some ring rows and my feet kept slipping out from under me. I assume that has something to do with the humidity involved in a rainy day since the last few dry days did not have this problem.

I began with a 2” band and did a few pull-ups. Then I tried a 1” band alone and couldn’t quite get my chin over the bar. I added a ½” band and could get a couple together, but not more than that. I did that several times, some stretching, more ring rows, and we did lots of gabbing. Kat was working on both a pull-up and pistols.

I looked to see what I did with this last time. I thought it was five. I knew it was April Fool’s Day because the next time we got together, we found out the 5 AM class had all added 10 to their number of rounds. I had been feeling really, really weenie when all I needed to feel was weenie.

So I knew where to look and see what I had done. I had gotten six. I used a 42# bar for the cleans. I remember having thought I should have tried one more round the last time so my goal today was seven.

I walked the burpees in and out. Kim was coaching, but Ryan was there with some guy who was looking at what seemed to be construction type projects. As we were doing these, Ryan watched the whole procedure of step-step, flop, push-up, step-step, small hop and a clap. He said I looked like I was doing the cha-cha.

I was having heart rate issues by the fourth round. I could get it down in the remainder of the minute but it was going high by the end. By the end of the sixth round, I had not enough time to get it down and so I was still at 162 when I began the seven burpees. I got them done and my heart rate was way high. I did a couple deep breaths and then cleaned the bar, but I knew I had to stop there. My heart rate was 178 and there was only 10 seconds before the next round. I hit my goal.

Ryan asked if it was possible to jump the burpee back in. By the time I had my heart rate down, I did a real burpee. Jumped out, did a push-up, jumped in and hopped with a clap. I can do a burpee. They just eat up all my heart rate.

I did 28 burpees (during the WOD) and that was enough. I think my goal for next time, if I can remember it, will be to just do the plank in and out and see if I can get to a higher round. Without the push-up in the middle, I might be able to keep going longer.

10896913_10152627865573581_4600462655608963416_n

