Since I’m not knitting but I’m also having to not snack (see weight gain issues), I had to come up with something else to do with my hands. I decided that chicken scratch is cool and takes a lot of time, so that would be a great new project. Yesterday I worked on gathering supplies for this. The local fabric store is simply an unhappy experience. I tried to avoid the place, but that’s where the supplies were. Unhappily.

I watched TED talks and began my first project, the only one using gingham and so the easiest to do. It was relaxing and I managed to not eat a bunch of junk. Barb challenged me to try a pear again. I’ve always maintained I hated them. She said tastes change with age and so I had a pear last night. It was delicious. Who knew that could happen?

Another day at the box. Usually on Fridays, I’m the only one there. Kat comes on Monday and Wednesday (even though she was there this Wednesday) so I wasn’t expecting here there today. She was. Rob finished his introduction classes and he was there. Kim was taking the class. Betsy was coaching. She has been working out with me and had planned on that for today. Kim said with the two of them there to keep an eye on us, it would be okay. So there were five of us working together.

It was chilly this morning and a wonderful day to workout. We warmed up and were finally declared ready to get on with the day.

Today’s WOD as written:
Week 3/8

Warm up your entire body thoroughly
percentages based off 90% of your 1RM
(always choose a lighter weight when unsure)
rest 3-5 minutes between sets
perform as many reps as possible on the last (+ set)
Back Squat –
5 @ 75%
3 @ 85%
1+ @ 95%
Post entire workout!
then
one of my personal favorites
AMRAP in 10 minutes:
15 Wall Balls (20/14)
1 Parking Lot Sprint

First thing I had to do was lots of math. I used the computer for that part before I got there and knew my weights. They were 70, 80, and 89 pounds, but I made that 90. I warmed up to that weight and got the 5, 3, and then managed 2. I probably could have done a third one, but my knee was falling in and I figured that discretion was the better part of valor and stopped. Pride goeth before the fall and I didn’t feel like falling.

We then set up for the AMRAP and I declared I was doing masters version or possibly legends version. The goal was to get all the wall balls without stopping and that was too many. I can squeak out 12 and that’s pretty much where I fall apart. So I said I was doing 12. I also did a 10# ball to an 8’ mark just like always. I don’t run. So I strolled the parking lot.

Starting out with a low heart rate made the first round not too bad. I was at a heart rate of 162 when I got to the parking lot. It was bright sunshine and so I had to wear my hat to keep from being blind. At least there was a delicious cool breeze out there.

By the time I got back, my heart rate was only 151 and that was too high to start. I did some box breathing and got it down to 145ish and began with the wall balls. I got them finished but my heart rate was 172. I went for my walk.

When I got back, my heart rate was still high enough to be beeping if the watch still beeped. I sat down and box breathed and got it down to 142 and began again. This remained my pattern for the rest of the workout. My heart rate would go to 174 and I would have to walk the parking lot and then sit and recover before going to the next round.

I got back inside the door with 8 seconds left on the clock. I my heart rate was still 167. My space on the wall was about half way in. I supposed I could have run over there and gotten one more wall ball but it seemed fairly pointless. My score was 5 rounds even and that’s just going to have to be good enough.

It was cold driving to the box with the top down but I was too lazy to put it back up. It was, however, absolutely wonderful to drive home with the top down. Always a bonus. I should be okay tomorrow because that was just 60 wall balls which shouldn’t have over worked me. I can’t believe I just thought 60 was “only” when talking about wall balls. There was a time when that would have been killer and taken me for freaking ever to do. And then crippled me for a couple days.

I’m not getting older; I am getting better. Well, maybe both.

11079651_497033683779490_4879522354983537982_n

