We went on a little vacation to Florida and it was fun BUT … I ate key lime pie, cheesecake, baklava, and lots of other stuff I normally don’t. I knew I would pay for it later, but I did it anyway. We walked on the beach each morning and did other stuff. There wasn’t snacking involved. I gained a little weight, but not as much as I had expected. Now it is back to reality and cleaner eating. And the box.

Wednesdays have been pretty light and I figured after a week off, it would be a good way to get back in the game. I didn’t lift or knit for over a week and my arm was feeling better, but it still has issues. I was looking forward to something easy to ease back in. Instead … a hero WOD. Oh well, at least I was rested going in.

It was heavenly sleeping in my own bed last night and I woke up refreshed but without enough caffeine from the drive home day. So I had a bit of a caffeine headache. I made a 14 ounce cup of coffee at the coffee bar, but it is always weaker from there than in a real coffeepot. I drank it and still had a headache. Dick was awake by 7.15 and he made a pot of coffee so I poured myself another 10 ounce cup. I also drank my protein drink but didn’t have any bananas in the house to go with it. I grabbed some almonds. My headache was dissipating.

I was the only one there this morning. My head was still pounding a little. I got through the warm-up okay, but the bear crawl was a once only thing. It didn’t feel good to be upside down. Amazingly, I only had to pee once and I managed to not wet my pants, too. So it was all good.

Today’s WOD as written:
Mobility Practice – spend warm up time working on your mobility and prehab to prepare for the WOD.

“BULL”

Brandon Barrett
U.S. Marine Corps Captain Brandon “Bull” Barrett, 27, of Marion, IN, assigned to the 1st Battalion, 6th Marine Regiment, 2nd Marine Division, II Marine Expeditionary Force, based out of Camp Lejeune, NC, was killed on May 5, 2010, while supporting combat operations in Helmand Province, Afghanistan.

He is survived by his parents Cindy and Brett Barrett, his sisters Ashley and Taylor Barrett, his brother Brock Barrett, and his grandmother Carmen Johnson.

First posted December 26 2010

Two rounds of:
200 Double-unders
135 pound Overhead squat, 50 reps
50 Pull-ups
Run 1 mile

There were people at both the 5 and 6 AM class and everybody scaled this. There were some who did one round and some who broke it into smaller pieces and did less than a round and it was all just too much stuff. I don’t run and it takes me around 13-14 minutes to walk a mile. Right there was a lot of time.

The weight is my deadlift so the chance of me doing an overhead squat with that is nil. But the women’s weight was “only” 95# which is more than three times my one rep max. Another issue was my being lopsided. I have trouble jumping rope with my mismatched shoes. I can’t overhead squat without evening myself out.

My arm was still hurting and pull-ups are ouchy.

My WOD
200 single unders
25 overhead squats 22#
25 pull-ups from a low bar, sort of like a ring rows but still a bar
½ mile walk

I have no idea what I was thinking, but I thought I could do that twice. I didn’t.

I got 120 jumps before I had to stop but I had started with a heart rate of 100 and ended with 167. Then I got down to 140 and did 40 and did that again.

Then I had to rest a bit before starting the overhead squats. I had tested both a 2.5 and a 5 pound plate under my short leg and liked the 5# better, so I was using that to even myself out. I managed 6. As I sat and panted and did box breathing and all that, I did math and knew that wasn’t going to work out well. So on the next set, I did 7 and then rested and got two more 6 rounds.

Then on to the pull-ups. I did them 7, 6, 6, and 6 and my issue was more my arm hurting than my heart rate getting way too high although it did go slightly over my 160 mark.

Then I went for a walk and had to wear my convertible driving hat to block the sun. I took my water bottle with me and I realized that I was feeling pretty nauseated and figured I was outside and there were lots of weeds on the side of the road and if I was going to puke, this was a perfect place. I managed to not puke which was even better.

I got back inside at 19.45 and it was almost 9 and I really didn’t have the time or inclination (or strength or stamina) to do it all again. I worked hard and had to be content with what I managed to do today.

10924732_10152505318537676_3885735987230971063_n

 

