I have tried, more or less successfully, to be mindful of what I’m eating. I haven’t weighed myself again because that is too depressing right now, but I haven’t had any ice cream or potato chips for days. I’ve been careful to not just graze out of boredom. I hope it helps some. It certainly can’t hurt.

Yesterday I had Greek yogurt with a sliced banana and some mandarin oranges (in 100% fruit juice with no sugar added) and the oranges had been open for a while. I think they may have been starting to ferment. I didn’t get sick, but they were bubbly, like champagne. I think I should throw out the rest of the jar.

Today, it was just me and Betsy. I hate working out alone so I was thrilled that she wanted to know if it was all right if we did the WOD together. Of course it was. It is so much better than being there by myself.

Today, we did an inchworm with a push-ups at the bottom for the length of the mat. I wasn’t able to do this Monday without getting dizzy. Today, no problem. I have no idea what the difference is. I had a banana and my protein shake before hitting the box both days. I woke up early enough to have a cup of coffee before the alarm went off and did so on both days. It was hot both days. One day I was fine and one day I was dizzy and ready to puke. I don’t understand. But we warmed up just fine.

Today’s WOD as written:
Week One

Warm up your entire body thoroughly
percentages based off 90% of your 1RM
(always choose a lighter weight when unsure)
rest 3-5 minutes between sets
perform as many reps as possible on the last (5+ set)
Squat –
5 @ 65%
5 @ 75%
5+ @ 85%
Post entire workout – 5 @ 65# / 5 @ 75# / 9 @ 85#
then
EMOM for 5 rounds (one movement per round):
30 seconds of box step ups then jog to the far end of the sidewalk
1 way parking lot sprint (focus effort here on efficient start and increasing effort each round)
2 more reps than last week of your abdominal movement Tabata single round score. Make them unbroken and performed quickly.
Post each rounds step up reps/sprint second/ab reps. The goal of this WOD is to maintain consistent reps and decreasing sprint time each round.

I did all the math (with the help of a calculator) and found my weights were to be 60, 70, and 80 pounds for today. I could make bars that weighed that much and did. I also changed to my mismatched shoes so I was even for this portion of the day.

I did five and five at the weights I was supposed to do. Some guy had heard about CrossFit Summerville and wandered in to talk to someone about what we do here and all that stuff that curious people want to know. And there I was at the rack with my 80# bar which for me is really heavy and for this huge guy was probably something he could press overhead one handed. That was really intimidating. I didn’t know if he could see all my gray hair and how awesome it is that I even show up. He was backlit by the glaring sunlight and all I could see was really massive man.

Thankfully, Betsy took him over to the other part of the gym where I was out of sight. I did my last round which was to be as many as possible. I got six done and considered one more but was too uncertain about getting back up. I know how to bail and all, but … I stopped with 6 and when I set the bar back on the rack and looked, my heart rate was 168. I’m so glad I didn’t try one more rep. Then I change my shoes again.

I pondered the EMOM part of this and wasn’t sure if I understood what we were doing. RFT I understand. EMOM I understand. This rounds EMOM thing I didn’t understand. But what it was, was a 15 min WOD with each move done serially beginning at the top of the minute.

I thought that might be what I was reading and if it was and I was the only person there (as has been usual), I would have asked to have it be a 10 minute WOD and just skip the run thing altogether.

There were three reasons for me not to run. First, I don’t run. Second, I’m going on vacation and I’m a klutz and I did not want to fall in the uneven pothole patched scary parking lot and have to vacation with scabbed knees. And lastly, I have a cataract that can’t be treated yet for various reasons. Glaring sunlight makes me nearly blind. I don’t have sunglasses that aren’t prescription and I wear contacts while at the gym. I would be in the direct glaring sunlight and running blind in the uneven parking lot.

This is what we decided to do. We did the step-ups together. Betsy went to the parking lot. I called her minute start time and she ran. We did the sit-ups together. It worked just perfect for me.

I got 15, 15, 17, 16, 16 on the step-ups to a 13” box. I measured the two 45 and two 25 plate stack against the 12” box and the box was about an inch shorter. Since I used the stack of weights last week but moving the box around is easier, I just used the box with a 10# plate on it to be the same height as last week’s work. My sit-ups last week were 8 each time so I did 10 each time except I opted for an extra one on the last round because it wasn’t 20 seconds gone yet.

I had a heart rate way too high at the end of the step-ups and was glad to have the extra minute to get it back down before I had to move on. I remembered to switch lead leg for half the reps so I shouldn’t be too sore tomorrow. The sit-ups killed me last week, but there were fewer this week, so hopefully that will be better, too.

On the white board I posted my age in weeks because I can, my reps at percentages because it evens the playing field and I’m working just as hard as people who can and do move higher weights, and then the number of reps completed.

8a37d7f0ebf4f597a6992f3a65540d0e

