Because I didn’t have to workout yesterday, I had extra time in the morning and rather than waste it here, I left for work and figured I would leave early. That did not pan out as expected. I had to work all day at work yesterday and even left late. I spent 46 minutes and some seconds on hold mostly, but talking to someone and being shunted off to the next person at Pitney Bowes. The stamp machine company has very little competition and their customer service has never been thrilling. But they now know I am retiring and my credit card is no good and so they should use the new one. Great. I knew it was going to be an odious task. Talking to them always is.

I looked at the WOD last night and just shuddered. And then I remembered that I haven’t yet died while working out, so I could probably do this as well. I knew last night when I looked that I would ask for a time cap.

Even so, I could not fall asleep last night. It has been a week since I had to get up at 5.15 and I kept thinking how early that was and how I really should fall asleep and then another boring and yet somehow compelling thought would stray in. I did that for almost an hour. Thankfully, once I fell asleep, I stayed asleep.

When the alarm went off, I dragged myself from my warm and cozy bed and readied myself to face to the ⁰F 33 temperature and hoped I wasn’t all alone again. I wasn’t Charlie was there and we had a visitor from Massachusetts – Jason. We discussed the peril he faces driving back home across states who were snowed upon and yet do not regularly deal with snowfall. It really does make a difference.

We warmed up as best we could in the cold building and were declared ready. I had my jacket off and my heart rate up, so I guess I was.

Today’s WOD as written:
first

20 rep max back squat
then
DOWN & BACK CHIPPER

Men 40-49 and Women 40-49:
For time:

50 box jumps (24 / 20 in.)
25 toes-to-bars
50 wall-ball shots (20 / 14 lb.)
25 ring dips
50 wall-ball shots (20 / 14 lb.)
25 toes-to-bars
50 box jumps (24 / 20 in.)
Men 50-59 and Women 50-59:
For time:

40 box jumps (24 / 20 in.)
20 toes-to-bars
40 wall-ball shots (20 / 14 lb.)
20 ring dips
40 wall-ball shots (20 / 14 lb.)
20 toes-to-bars
40 box jumps (24 / 20 in.)
Men 60+ and Women 60+:
For time:

40 step-overs (24 / 20 in.)
20 toes-to-bars
40 wall-ball shots (14 / 10 lb.)
20 bar dips
40 wall-ball shots (14 / 10 lb.)
20 toes-to-bars
40 step overs (24 / 20 in.)

I asked what sort of percentage of a one rep max I should work toward on the 20 back squats. Kim said whatever I thought I could manage would be what I should do. We could warm up to one try to get the 20. I warmed up with an empty 33# bar and then put on 20# and did a few more reps. Then I went to the board and looked. Molly had done 83# and Cory had done 55#. Really? If Cory, young, fit, and able had done 55, what in the hell was I thinking. Kim said she thought I could do my weight and that Cory could have done more. The deal was that once you picked up the bar, you did 20 reps. You could pause, but you couldn’t rerack.

I got to eight or nine. Then I had to pause. By 13, my heart rate monitor was yelling at me and I successfully ignored it. I started doing two reps at a time, but I was on odd numbers so I had to pause one last time at 19 but I got the whole 20 done and had a heart rate of 170 after I racked the weight. I had thought I might try 63# and I believe I would have failed at that weight. So I’m very happy with this.

And then on to the next thing. I’m in the last group. Once again, I had to look up a video online to see what in the hell something was. I’ve been at this for over two damn years and all of a sudden there is all this crap I don’t know again. But I searched on CrossFit step overs and found a little video. I believe I’m going to use this as a master’s scaling option from now on. You stand on the box, drop your right leg to the floor, get back up on the box, drop your left leg to the floor, stand back on the box, etc. I like it. Well, comparatively speaking.

Instead of toes to bar I did V-ups, and we don’t have bars for bar dips. I believe they would be considered easier because they would be stable and not wiggling all over the damn place like the rings do. I did dips from my 20” box instead. Last night, what most got me was the 80 damn wall balls. They just suck the life right out of me. How would I do 80? This was madness. I’m a very old woman, decrepit and scared by everything. And here was my nod to old age, 80 wall balls.

The first thing I noticed was that Kim had put a time cap on this sucker. Good thing. It kept me from a total panic. We had 20 minutes. Jason actually RXd his stuff. Charlie put in some scaling on the toes to bars and ring dips. None of us managed to complete the whole thing in the 20 minutes.

I had to pause once on the step-overs but I did so at rep 25. And then it was pretty much downhill from there. I got into the teens on the V-ups before I had to pause, but it was just momentarily. And then came the wall balls. I got 12, had a heart rate of 170 and got it down to low 150s, did that again, managed to get 8 and rest and then 8 and rest. I got the box dips done with just a small rest in the teens and then I had to do 40 more damn wall balls. This time I did them in four sets of ten and had a heart rate over 170 after each set. Time was running out. I managed the V-ups with some and pant and some and pant and eventually, they were done. I rested some and began the step-overs. There was about 70 seconds left to the time and my heart rate was 172. I had to stop. I got it down to 160 and finished out moving. I got 16 of these done before time was called.

I had no idea I could do this much work in 20 minutes. If there had been a 25 minute cap, I would have finished the damn thing and I would have thought it would have taken me much, much longer. I know I benefitted from choosing V-ups over knees to elbows and my sub out for the equipment we didn’t have made life easier, too. But I was working as hard as my old, fat ass would let me. And I got more done than I thought I would. I didn’t like doing it, but I love having done it.

10421622_1506224736305295_7651376575371208054_n

