We went out to lunch with the boss yesterday and got our yearly bonus. That was nice. So was lunch. They had a tomato/tarragon with crab soup that was delicious. I hadn’t ever considered using crab in tomato soup, but it worked.

There was lots of work at work yesterday which made the day go by so much faster than not very much work at work which makes the day drag.

We got to talk to Dylan on his birthday. The “little guy” is now ten and turning into a big guy. As a special birthday treat, they got their report cards yesterday and he did quite well, improving in many areas. WTG, Dyl-man.

I know I was having some very strange dream when the alarm clock went off and then it totally dissipated. I can remember being amused when I woke up, but now I don’t remember why. I got up and got dressed in many layers. It was supposed to be cold this morning and it was.

Kim coached Charlie and me this morning. She needed to leave by 6.55 in order to get her daughter to school. I reminded her that it would take me forever to do the day’s WOD and she might want to shorten the warm-up some so that I didn’t make her late. She assured me it would all be fine.

We warmed up with a 500 meter row. The fans in the rowers are not enough to be helpful in the summer, but they are way too cold in the winter. It was ⁰F 37 this morning and for the South, that’s cold. It is supposed to be below freezing on Thursday.

We did a bunch of other stuff and were declared warm enough to begin the day. We must have been because I was out of all my extra layers.

Today’s WOD as written:
Front Squat 5-5-5-3-3-1-1
then
21-15-9
thrusters (95/65)
slam balls (40/25)

When I looked at this last night, I was plotting for an end weight of 85 and trying to decide how to get there. I warmed up with a 33# bar and noticed that today was going to be a good day to have mismatched shoes, so I did that. It is easier to squat and go overhead when I’m not so crooked. It’s actually easier to do just about everything when I’m not a pretzel.

My working weights were 45, 55, 60, 65, 70, 75, 80. I got the 80 okay and maybe could have made 85. Where I was already falling apart was with the 5 reps and put that extra 60 in there, because I was feeling like I might throw up at any time. I always hope to avoid that. And I did.

My rep scheme for this was 18-12-6. Kim said it should take me about the same time as everyone else. Well, it depends on who the everyone else is. I think someone had a time of six even at the 5 AM class. Their longest time was in the nine minute range.

The Masters Garage Games for this year has as the final Chipper WOD:
Thrusters, Toes To Bar, Overhead Wall Ball Walking Lunge, Burpee Over the Bar
50 Thrusters, 40 T2B, 30 OH Lunge, 20 Burpee –  12 Minute Cap
Scaled version for my age: 50+ 65/20 45/14 Sit-ups

Today was my day to try 45# ish thrusters. It says I’m to do 50 of them. I believe the sit-ups are instead of the toes to bar. My weight for this would be 45# just like it is for every move throughout the day. Other people get to have lower weights as the move becomes more difficult or there are more reps. But not old ladies. We get to have the same bar all damn day.

I began this with an adequate but still tachycardic heart rate of around 110. Using my 42# bar, I could all the way to 8 before I had to stop with a heart rate of 170 and getting dizzy. I got some more done, had to rest, got the rest finished and decided on the slam balls that I would do them in sets of six come hell or high water.

Somewhere in the slam balls I also decided that this was not going to work. After I finished the slam balls, I went and got the 33# bar and did the rest of the WOD with that. I could then get six thrusters at a time and have a heart rate of 170. Get it back down to 145 and start again. Then do the slam balls, also in sets of six.

It was horrible and I was exhausted but I finished it that way in 13.27. That’s more than twice the time of the fastest person in 5 AM. It is 1.5 times the slowest person at 5 AM. It wasn’t even a minute longer than Charlie. We were out of there at 6.56.

It looks to me like 50 thrusters with 45# is simply going to be beyond me. But then, 30 snatches with 45# is too. Luckily, I can do 30 power cleans with 45# so that one would be okay. But it just seems to me that the Masters Garage Games are out of reach for me this year.

My next challenge will be to get out of this sports bra and take a shower. I hope I can lift my arms.

10933841_745162055566888_3916286244044222079_n

