I enjoyed my day off. It was beautiful out there. I live in South Carolina and the sun shines far more frequently than it did when I lived in Ohio. Yesterday, it was warm and sunny and I put the top down on the car for my drive home from work. Great way to start my weekend.

I played with all sorts of numbers and got myself upset over the Masters Garage Games again last night. It is inequitable and there is nothing I can do about it. It is already written. I’m unable to do it as written so I don’t get to play. I’m glad I didn’t put it off last year. It is disappointing, but it isn’t the end of the world.

I am a CrossFitter and I go to the box on Thursday and so I was up in the middle of the night to get there. Unfortunately, I was up far earlier than I needed to be. Today is either going to be full of coffee, or a nap, or even possibly both. Maybe I will be able to sleep through the night tonight. I feel like a 3 month old, except that I didn’t wake up anyone else to share my misery.

I understand that people like to do a 3 day/rest/2 day/rest cycle. I don’t know why some don’t do a 2 day/rest/3 day/rest cycle, but that seems to not happen. Thursday is the day they all take off and so it is very light. There were only 4 people at 5 AM and only me at 6 AM. Nothing like a private session.

Kim was coaching and had me do a variety of things which I managed to do okay. Well, the first row was 125 meters and I forgot to stop. I’m not used to that short of a distance. But other than that, I got through the warm-up okay. For the people who are new to exercising because it is a New Year’s Resolution, I would like to point out that most of what I did today as my warm-up would have been really difficult when I first started, unless it would have been impossible. The beginning is the hardest part. If you don’t quit, you don’t have to start all over again.

I was warm, and I had my jacket and long sleeved shirt off. It was no longer ⁰F 75 and sunny this morning but instead was ⁰F 42 and dark. I had to put the top up on the car and put on layers. (I don’t want my northern friends to get too jealous.) But I was ready now.

Today’s WOD as written:
Strict Press

5-5-3-3-1-1-1
then
4 rounds for individual time:
10 walking lunges
8 ring push ups
6 parallette pass throughs
4 power cleans (135/95)
rest 1 minute

I didn’t remember what my max on the strict press was and I still don’t. I have it written down somewhere on my phone. I’m eventually going to have to get my phone because I took a picture of my times since I couldn’t remember them. Life for the aged is full of methods for coping. And my phone isn’t with me but I’m going to have to get up and get it and then I will look up the max for this and then I will have to enter it into the middle of my paragraph so I might as well get up now and look at all the numbers. Wasn’t that exciting to read? That’s how my mind was twirling for half the night.

My max is 53#. Today, I worked with a 22# bar and did 22, 27, 32, 37, 42, 47 and still had room so I did a 52 and got it and tried a 57 and couldn’t manage to get it up without cheating. So I hit the number I was hoping for without even knowing it was my max, but I couldn’t manage any more. So, I really have a max.

When I looked at the conditioning part of the day’s work, I figured I would try something a little different for today. I was going to change my weight on power cleans. I have been using the same weight for a long time. It might be time to inch it up some.

I cut back the reps to 8, 6, 4, and 2 and only doing two power cleans with a higher weight seemed safe. Challenging, but not too much. I did regular push-ups and did the parallette pass throughs using 20” boxes. And then I used 52# for the power cleans. I could RX the minute rest.

The first round I could manage without having to stop at all and I got it done in .55 and then I could blissfully rest. But my heart rate was high and I couldn’t get it back down as far as it was when I started. So on the second round, I had to pant just a bit before the pass throughs but still finished in 1.00 even. Then I had an even higher heart rate and managed to get the lunges and push-ups done but had to really rest before the pass throughs and then just powered through the cleans. It took me 1.13 for that one. On the last round, I was beeping by the second push-ups but finished them anyway. Then I had heart rate of 166 and still had stuff to do. I got it down to 160 and figured I would just beep my way through the rest of it. Last round took 1.12.

I’m glad I lowered the reps and I’m glad I increased the weight. I think it made the overall work just right for an old fart.

My goal for the rest of the day is to stay awake, unless I decide I really need a nap.

8433d394b9fa402b694dc1a1f95defe3

