Since I was up before dawn for New Year’s Eve, I could not stay awake until midnight. I fell asleep around 10.30 but with the explosion of fireworks at midnight, I was awake and looking at the clock when it read exactly midnight. Happy 2015.

I did mostly nothing all day yesterday. I worked on Little Bits of History stuff and made a quick run to the grocery store. I did a bit of knitting. I played online and played some computer games. I luxuriated in the nothingness.

I want to be braver. I looked at the WOD last night. It is again, an exact copy of something we have done in the last couple months. I did it then; I could do it now. I looked at it, figured out how to scale it for masters, and then stopped worrying about it. Well, that isn’t quite correct. It took me a couple minutes of intense thinking to remember what the acronym stood for since there weren’t any good clues in the WOD itself.

I was up in the middle of the night. It was supposed to be in the low 40s, but the temperature was a balmy ⁰F 51. I kept my outfit the same anyway. I got myself ready and went out into the cold, dark night.

It was just me and Jackson. I would like to tell you who was coaching, but I can’t think of her name. She never introduced herself to Jackson but maybe he met her before. But for today, it will just have to be Coach. It was embarrassing because she knew my name. And I know I should know hers, but I’m not coming up with it.

Anyway, we warmed up and did lots of stuff and were finally declared warm. It must have been true because I was out of my jacket and long sleeved shirt and down to my working clothes.

Today’s WOD as written:
Dumbbell Strict to Push Press Ladder (10/5)
then
AMBAP in 10 minutes:
Buy In:
8 deadlifts (225/155)
500m row
1 mat OHWL w/plate (45/25)
5 heavy tire flips
1 mat OHWL w/plate (45/25)
500m row
8 deadlifts (225/155)

I remembered the dumbbell ladder thing from some time in the last couple months. Jackson said he didn’t remember this but I remember Sarah Ann there with me on this one because we got silly. But I began with 5# weight and climbed by 5# on each next set while Jackson began with 10# and went up 10# on each next set.

We were to do five strict and then push press to failure but what we really did was five and five until we couldn’t manage that number of reps. I have no idea how long it would take to keep pushing up five pounds, but I think it would be a very long time. Anyway, we didn’t do that.

I managed the 5 and 10 at five and five. I could do 15 at five and five with my right arm, but only got to three and five with my left. At 20, I could get one or two strict and then managed the five push press. Either I was stronger or I had tried the 25# weight because I remember not being able to finish the last weight. At 25, I couldn’t strict press at all and got three push press with my right arm and nothing at all with my left. See? Jackson failed at 40# and managed with the 35# weight, but I don’t know how much.

What took me a while last night was the whole AMBAP thing. What the hell was the B supposed to be for? And then it hit me. What else but burpees. Then I remembered this whole mess from before. All that crap this is written is the buy in and then for the remaining time, do burpees. Your score is the number of burpees done. That is not written there. I guess the copy and paste feature didn’t copy enough.

If I wanted to have time to do burpees, I had to cut back on the buy in portion. So I did. I figured I would do 6 deadlifts and 4 tire flips. I would cut back the row to 400 meters. I needed to consult with Coach, whoever she was, on the overhead walking lunges. I could either do a shorter distance with a 10# plate or just lunge down the mat and call it a day. Coach picked the latter.

I opted for the Masters Garage Games weight on the deadlifts and just used 65# because it was supposed to be light enough to breeze through them. I got them done and rowed and by the end I was beeping. So I sat on the rower and did box breathing and then did the lunge down the mat thing and was beeping. I sat on my tire and got my heart rate back down. I did the four tire flips. I was beeping. I sat on the tire and got my heart rate down.

Then it was back up the mat and my heart rate was high again, but I can row slow enough to compensate. I did. I got that done and then had to get my heart rate to 140s so I could do the deadlifts. Then they were finished and I had to start the burpees. First thing I did was lay on the ground to stop beeping and then got my heart rate to 140s and began. I walked them in and out and never rested again. Time was running out. I had ten seconds left and so I actually hopped the last two, like a real burpee. I finished with a score of 10.

I would like to know what I did with this last time but even with all this writing stuff, it is a pain to try to find a specific WOD if it isn’t a named WOD. There is no “compare to” with a date handily given maybe because we aren’t supposed to realize this was a repeat. But why not? There is nothing wrong with a repeat.

As we finished, I said something about it was hell getting old. Yet again, someone has told me I am not old. I know I live in a culture that reveres youth but honestly, I want credit for getting my old, creaky, fat ass out of bed and to the box. I’m not young. If I’m not old, how old do I have to be to be old? I’m certainly past middle age. I’m not going to live to 125. Please world, give me credit for being this age. Let me be old. “The time has come, the walrus said” to quote Lewis Carroll.

e25db0c064d8018f2254571b3790bd75

