Several days ago, when speaking with my son about Christmas plans, I mentioned we would be down after I did the Christmas Eve WOD at CrossFit Summerville. He then asked if I would like to work out instead at CTF. His last class of the day would be at noon if I thought we could be there by that time. I thought it might work. I checked with the driver. He said he would enjoy getting us there and would amuse himself while we did the WOD.

So we got there in the pouring rain and managed to be there a bit early. Because of the weather, we left the house earlier than would have been necessary with nice weather on a non-holiday. It did take us a bit longer than normal, but we made it on time.

Craig wasn’t sure how many people would be showing up for noon, but if there weren’t too many, he would be able to work out instead of coach. There were maybe a dozen of us. He got to work out instead of coach. It was the first time we ever worked out together.

Today’s WOD as written:
For time: 12 days rounds of Christmas*

1 200m run
2 Power Cleans 155/105
3 OTB burpees (both feet over the bar at the same time)
4 Back Squats  155/105
5 Deadlifts 155/105
6 Pushups
7 Pullups
8 4-count mountain climbers
9 T2B
10 burpees to a target
11 C2B pullups
12 S2OH 155/105
*On the first day of Christmas, perform a 200m run
On the 2nd day, peform a 200m run and 2 Power Cleans
On the 3rd day, perform a 200m run, 2 Power Cleans and 3 OTB burpees
On the 4th day, perform a 200m run, 2 Power Cleans, 3 OTB burpees and 4 Back Squats.
On the 5th day… you get the picture. Go to 12!
12 rounds of Christmas as written for LI, which would be me and people like me.
1 100 meter run
2 Russian kettlebell swings
3 over the bar burpees
4 goblet squats
5 KB deadlift
6 push-ups
7 ring rows
8 double mountain climbers
9 hanging knee raises
10 thrust in and out (burpee without the push-up)
11 ring rows (deeper under the rings)
12 American kettlebell swings

We warmed up and reviewed the movements and then began. It was a long, grueling workout and there were some spectacular athletes doing this with us. My son did the RX version as did most of the people there. I worked just as hard as I could for as long as I could doing the LI version which was hard enough for this old fart. In fact, it was still too much. Some day, I will get all 12 days done.

My plan for this at CrossFit Summerville was to skip day 9 and day 11 and see if I couldn’t manage to not take for freaking ever. At CTF, I hoped to get in all 12 days. Hope, apparently, springs eternal even in the face of impending Social Security checks.

I used a 25# KB which was really light on the deadlifts and really heavy on the American kettlebell swings so it was a trade off. My heart rate was consistently high most of the time. I walked all the runs. I got through the first walk, the second walk and Russian kettlebell swings, the third walk, kettlebell swings, and over the kettlebell burpees (walking them in and out, but really jumping over the KB) and then it pretty much just all fell apart. I knew I was beeping in the burpees, but it was only three for the love of God. And when I finished, I had a heart rate in the high 160s.

I couldn’t even manage to get it down during my stroll. I would box breathe and then work for a bit hoping to get a set of moves completed and then my heart rate would be so high I would have to wait again. I kept moving as much as I could.

It wasn’t like everyone else did the whole thing without ever stopping and panting like a lizard on a hot rock, but I’m pretty sure I beat everyone else at the box when timed for amount of time spent not working during the workout.

At around 50 minutes in, I had a chance to ask Craig if he would be very disappointed if I only did 11 days. He said, “It’s your workout.” As I began my 11th round, I was absolutely wiped out. And that was on the walk. I still had all that other crap to do. And then the 12th round. With all that crap. I was exhausted. I decided somewhere in there that I simply didn’t have another round. My hands were on fire from where the wrinkle in my glove rubs my hand. But I couldn’t take the gloves off and do the moves because my hand was on fire. I opted instead to just ignore round 11 and do the final round and be finished. I was done in 60.31

I really was done. My face was beet red and I was exhausted. Usually I think I might have been able to do more. I couldn’t have. Well, I might have been able to manage the walk. Maybe. The highest I saw my heart rate was 181 and I was feeling a bit woozy at that rate. But usually I was in the high 160s or very low 170s. And doing that for an hour was all I could do.

One of the drop ins asked Craig, “Why do you keep calling that woman Mom?” and Craig said, “Because she’s my mom.” The guy was pretty impressed. So was I. It was very fun to workout with my son. He is awesome to watch as are many of his other athletes. It was a fun day at the box. And then, we had Christmas Eve dinner, watched Santa travel via NORAD, and found that he had visited the house during the night. Frankie got a surfboard, a skateboard, and a guitar. What a multifaceted little girl.

Merry Christmas to all. I hope everyone had as much fun in the last 24 hours as I have.

1235900_10152512561763581_4212935426037892861_n

