I am thankful for my parents who insisted I always do my best, try again, don’t give up. I’m thankful for being raised with love and caring. Always having enough but not being overindulged.

I am thankful for my big sister who has protected me since the day I was born. Who has led the way, given examples. I’m thankful for the guidance, insight, and laughter.

I am thankful for my little sister who has been my playmate since she could move. She let me boss her around when no one else would and gave me a taste of tempered power. I’m thankful for her giggles, confidence, and laughter.

I am thankful for my husband who chose me for a lifetime of togetherness. I’m thankful for the lean years, the fat years, and all the years in between. I’ve had a life many can only dream of because the center has remained steadfast. I’m thankful for the joys, the laughter, the love.

I am thankful for my older son who taught me how to be a mother. The fragile preemie taught me a fear I had never known before. The happiness of seeing that so small being turn into a boy, a youth, a man has been awe-inspiring.

I am thankful for my younger son who has taught me patience like nothing else on Earth could. The boisterous funny child turned into a terrifying teen and solid man capable of meeting any challenge. The roller coaster ride was unlike anything in any amusement park.

I am thankful for my daughters-in-law who have taken over the day to day task of my sons. They love the men I raised and for that, there is no better blessing than pure gratitude.

I’m thankful for the grandchildren who have given me the opportunity to love unconditionally without all the responsibility their fathers entailed. They are simple joys without constraint. The toothless grins turning into superheroes goes too fast.

I am thankful for all the friends I have had through this long life. I’m thankful for the girlhood friends, the young mother friends, the retired friends. I’m thankful for the friends from around the world that I know only through the miracle of the internet. I’m thankful for the support, caring, sharing, and camaraderie.

I am thankful for all the years I spent being a nurse, saving lives and conquering disease. There is no better thing in the world than helping others who are in need and this occupation gave me a chance to help others with a basic, terrifying need – overcoming illness.

I am thankful for the few years I spent teaching, spreading knowledge to those who sought it out. Another way to better the world is by sharing with seekers. Education of the enquiring mind is a gift well worth the effort.

I am thankful for the years I’ve spent in administration work. While there is no glorious end product to producing a report, the time has been well spent when I didn’t have the energy to continue in previous paths but was not ready to quit walking the path at all.

I am thankful for the years I’ve spent in sports. I loved racquetball for as long as I could. I am grateful for CrossFit and the ability to achieve new things even at this late date.

I am thankful for living in a society that believes in freedom. I’m grateful for those who keep me safe and for the men and women whose jobs ensure I have had this opportunity to live the life above.

Happy Thanksgiving.Thanksgiving-Day-Pictures-Free-3

 

