My goal yesterday was to get a specific amount of writing done and I managed to meet that goal. I also got the weekly grocery shopping done and Dick and I took Flat Stanley to Old Dorchester, where the original settlement here was founded. There are remains from a Revolutionary War fort there, the tower from the church and its attendant graveyard, and some archeological digs.

The WOD for today was written up on the white board yesterday. Kim and I were discussing my failure to meet my only CrossFit goal this year. She looked at the board and there was something there to help me meet the goal. I managed to not look at the rest of the WOD and managed to stay away from it last night. Thank goodness. I would have freaked out.

Today’s warm-up was
500 meter slow row
500 meters alternating 100m of fast with recovery row
lunge down the mat
10 push-ups
10 ring rows
15 banded good mornings
10 cherry pickers
lunge down the mat with 25/10 pounds overhead
dislocates and passthroughs
10 OH squats with a PVC pipe

I only have one speed of rowing. Gabe was with our group this morning and he has a weighted backpack. I have no idea how much weight is in it, but he did everything but the rowing with the backpack.

Also there was Jackson, Melissa, Todd, and me. Kim was coaching and said something to Jackson about being a senior. He is a junior. He must be 16 or 17. Aiden is 11 and will be 12 soon. This kid is only five years older than my oldest grandchild. Dear God.

Today’s WOD as written:
Deadlifts 5 – 5 – 5 – 5 – 5
Pull Up Holds 4 x ME
then
AMRAP in 10 minutes:
10 overhead squats (95/65)
7 hang power cleans (95/65)
4 squat snatches (95/65)
40 20 walking lunges

The pull-up holds were going to help me reach a goal of a pull-up by the end of the year. I’m thinking there isn’t enough time to get from where I am to a pull-up. Everything takes me, an old person, lots and lots of time.

My deadlift weights were 65-85-95-105-115 and my first pull-up hold was in the nanosecond range. Kim suggested I used the narrowest (half inch) band for some support and see what I could do. These bands, in my opinion, are useless but she is the coach. I tried it. On the second try I might have gotten to three seconds and then I got tangled in the band getting down. Always graceful – that’s me. On the next try, I thought Kim had been looking at the clock. I was counting, but I have a tendency to count fast. I had gotten to five, but hoped it was really four seconds. She hadn’t been looking. On the last one, she really timed me and I held for 7 seconds. Astounding. I held my fat ass up on the bar for seven freaking seconds. I think the band is really just a safety net or psychology thing.

I asked for suggestions on what to do with the conditioning portion of the day. Earlier in the week, I failed on the last set of three OH squats. I was using a 22# bar which is the lightest thing we have. What should I do today? I do not have the ability to execute a squat snatch. At all. Unless it is with a PVC pipe. I can do that weight.

My task was 8 OH squats and power snatches. When I looked at this thing earlier, it had the 40 walking lunges. Paul had been the only person at 5 AM and he and Kim had decided this was too onerous a task and it would take up too much of the ten minutes. They cut it back to 20 and I shall be forever grateful for that.

I beeped a lot and did box breathing a lot and got back up and worked some more. I managed 2+14 for a score which means I got 24 OH squats today which beats the hell out of 14 earlier this week. I never did get the set of eight all at once, but I kept trying.

Todd pulled a muscle in his leg/hip doing the deadlifts and he has a bad shoulder. He complained about how hard this is for old people. He just turned 50. It is hard for old people. It’s harder when you are standing next to a teenager who just started and can do everything at more weight than you can after two years. I can be all pissy about this being old stuff.

Or, I can remember that two years ago, I would never have dreamed I could get 115 pounds off the ground even once. I wouldn’t have been able to do anything from a pull-up bar and I would have been tired using a PVC pipe with the OH squats and power snatches. I might, maybe, have been able to do power cleans at that weight by this time two years ago.

I have come a long way from the old lady who used a PVC pipe as a cane to do walking lunges. I lunged holding a good upright position and didn’t fall over once. I had to stop and get my heart rate back down several times during the ten minutes. It sucks to be old. But I managed to keep working for ten minutes. I read an article lately about EMOM WODs and how rest is part of a workout.

Think of that. Rest is part of a workout. I realize that for younger people, it is part of a workout only some of the time. But instead of all those people not at the gym with me today who were resting for the entire ten minutes, I only rested part of the time and just to get my heart rate back down enough to work hard enough to get it back up. That’s pretty amazing in a culture devoted to electronic devices and sitting still. I was up and moving and getting shit done.

1969310_10152454637813581_2223171993603243385_n

