I got home from the box yesterday and scheduled a massage for later in the morning. I thought I had one scheduled, but I was not in the computer and no one had called to tell me I had one. Then, when I got there, they had finally found me scheduled for the next week. I have no idea what made me think four weeks wait would be a good idea. Jeremy did some nice things which are all gone already since I was back at the box again this morning.

The moon was full and beautiful this morning on my drive in. A glorious morning. I didn’t notice stars in the sky but the full moon was just above the Carolina pines and it was lovely to see. If I have to be up this early, it is nice to have such loveliness to behold.

But then I was at the box and enough loveliness. It was just me and Todd. Coach Cory was in charge of us. Kim had some young man there with a fundamentals class. So there were more bodies, but just the two of us were doing the WOD.

Cory has taken to putting her warm-up on a little white board. It was two rounds of:
250 m row
20 walking lunges
15 wall balls
10 kettlebell swings
5 inch worms

This looked to me like it was going to be the only thing I could do today. I had successfully avoided reading the WOD last night but when I looked at it this morning, I was taken aback. Maybe I should just stop looking at all. I always manage to do something and it scares the living daylights out me before I start. I often look and immediately begin to figure out how to cheat scale. It’s all scalable. Today, just like every day this week, that’s what I did. I get myself upset just reading it. This is beyond stupid. I’ve been at this for over two years and I’ve never been told to go home, or that I am unwanted.

Anyway, Cory said I should just do half the reps for the warm-up which was really nice. I didn’t kill myself before starting. Todd’s shoulder is still bothering him and so he did some other things rather than the wall balls and kettlebell swings. I don’t know what he did about inch worms since that move hurts his shoulder, too, but I was too busy working on my own warm-up to notice what he was doing.

Today’s WOD as written:
Overhead Squats 3 – 3 – 3 – 3 – 3
slam ball trios – 4 x 3 (40/25) one repetition is a slam to the left, then middle, then right.
Post weights for each set.
then
Waiter Walks 1 – 1 – 1 – 1
choose a heavy object (plate, kettlebell, dumbbell, etc) and hold it overhead. Walk the length of the mat and back. Post loads for each trip. Go heavy.
for time:
800 m run
Post time.

I simply suck at OH squats. I have little to no arm/shoulder strength and they kick my ass. I knew I wasn’t going up in any weight and I struggled with just the 22# bar. I could get two okay, but that third one was tough each round. I did make a full squat with the damn bar. That’s nice.

Slam balls at that weight were possible, but I asked about my back and the torque movement. I hate to try something when I’m not in alignment since I’m already so curved and curled up. It seemed like it would hurt my back. Cory thought it might and so I used just the smallest 8# slam ball and did sit-ups left, middle, right. Todd had no idea what he was doing and thought he was supposed to be slamming more shit. I kept hearing thump, thump, thump. So I asked him what in the hell he was doing. I should only hear nine slams per time. He was thinking he was supposed to do four sets of the three moves. I got the over-achiever back down to the RX level rather than RX+.

The waiter carry was up and down the mat with the weight held in first the right hand and then up and down the mat with the weight held in the left hand. I started out at 10# and it was okay. I did 15# and thought I could do more. I tried 20# and had to use two hands, but Kim said she had thought it was all two handed and Cory said that waiters hold their trays with just one hand. I pointed out, helpfully, that they also balanced the edge of the tray on their shoulders but this was not part of our day.

We finished this, and it was time to go and run a half mile. We were to warm up and I mentioned I never ran faster than a slow jog. Kim told the new person guy that only Patti could say what she would not do. I said it wasn’t true. Anyone over 60 was allowed to say what they didn’t do and Kim laughed and said that was true.

I ran almost 200 meters before I began beeping. I have learned to stop immediately when I beep on a run and then walk as quickly as possible. If I wait and get a heart rate of 170 and am forced to stop, I can’t walk fast and I actually lose time. So I walked as fast as I could and did some box breathing and got back to the Jiffy Lube driveway and ran in from there which I think is about 75 meters. I was back at 6.47 – which I believe is longer than it takes Jeff Ford to run a mile. I think that was very close to his per mile rate for his last marathon.

Comparison is the thief of joy, but I find no joy in running and I never have. Cheri was able to run fast as a kid. This was not my skill. I can type fast. I can tell stories out of thin air. I can do other things. I am not a runner. I’m happy being who I am and I’m happy with who I am not. If we were all supposed to run everywhere, the wheel wouldn’t have caught on.

36894c78be9edba1d3f8b57d722817f1

