For the first time in a week and a half, I had to get up at 5.15 AM. I really enjoyed sleeping in. I loved the 8 AM class time available at CTF. It was early enough to not take up my whole day, it was a class with coaches rather than just open gym, and I got to sleep in. I wish we had that available here.

But we don’t, and even if we did, I couldn’t do an 8 AM class and get to work on time, so I couldn’t choose that right now anyway. Coach Jason was there today and so was Todd. His shoulder is still bothering him, but he thought he would try it. I don’t know what happened to Charlie. Cindy comes to open gym later in the day on Mondays. The 5 AM class was full and there was just the two of us at 6 AM. I worry this is going to disappear.

Warm-up was a lot of stuff done with a med ball and I was overly warm before we finished.

Today’s WOD as written:
Deadlift 3 – 3 – 3 – 2 – 2 – 1
then
AMRAP in 8 minutes
15 wall balls (20/14)
5 box jumps (24/20)
15 sit ups

Jason had us working on a different position for a deadlift. Squatting with a big chest up and coming up with the weight like a bottom loaded squat. Rather than change my shoe today, I just had a 2.5# plate under my foot which works with deadlifts. The new move was awkward at first and I couldn’t lift even my 103# lower weight bar doing that. I could do the 103# using my back for the three reps. I can back squat that much weight, so I wasn’t sure what was wrong. I stripped off 20# and managed three reps at the 83# and kept my legs doing the work.

It was getting less awkward, but I was still getting dizzy. I’m not sure why I have been so dizzy lately. I had a protein drink before going to the box, so that isn’t it. I noticed I wasn’t dizzy at all last week. I wonder if it is something to do with the time of day. Or, last week, it was not very South Carolina-ish and the humidity was very low. Today was muggy again.

Even with being dizzy, I got the two sets of two at 93# and then went back to 103#. This time I could get it off the floor. Jason said it looked better. I could feel the weight in my legs and butt rather than my back. But I was too dizzy to try a heavier weight.

One of the things that has been bothering me is that I know a bunch of aging football players. They all seem to be suffering from the consequences of playing a rough sport in their early years. I wanted to know if what I was doing today was going to cause me to become a cripple ten to fifteen years down the road. Jason said that football players are knocked around and it is like being hit by a car. I’m doing functional movements with an eye to correct body mechanics. I should be fine.

I asked what happened to the Red, White, and Blue stuff. It seems we aren’t going to do this anymore. I don’t know why. It is so defeating for me to go day after day and have to ask for the weenie stuff to be made special for the shit athlete. When there was written scaling, it seemed like maybe I was a real CrossFitter instead of an imposter. I could do what was on the board. I wasn’t asking for anything special. I didn’t feel like I used a short bus for my ride to the gym. But, I’m back to asking for weenie considerations or making shit up on my own. When I put my score on the board, I put Red after it since I scaled it. Since there are no routine scaling things, all the score that aren’t RX are just a mishmash of crap and not really useful if one is comparing something.

Then we were ready for the WOD. I hate wall balls. They just take everything out of me. I can’t string them together. I’m old and feeble regardless of proper mechanics and not being a football player in my youth. They just suck.

The first round I got them in 8 and 7 using a 10# ball to an 8’ line, the box jumps were done as step-ups to a 20” box. Sit-ups are easy. The next two rounds, I had to break the wall balls into sets of 5 and rest too much in between. I had to rest after the last set before I was good enough to do the step-ups, too. It just took way too much time to not die. I only had a score of 3+0. Pitiful.

If I look at the WOD differently, when I started, I couldn’t throw a 10# med ball at the floor, I couldn’t do anything with a 20” box, and sit-ups had to be done in sets of five. So I’m better than I used to be and that should be my only competition. Unfortunately, I would like to be better than the 25 year olds. In my head, I can do this stuff. It’s my heart that seems to be slowing me down.

10264688_10152361230268581_3876666539134853640_n

