I don’t know if my son was hoping for a jump on his inheritance by trying to kill me or what was happening. I don’t often look at his workouts even though he posts them the evening before. I don’t get to see mine anymore, so I don’t look at his, either. That and I have to click through twice to actually see the WOD and I’m the laziest thing this side of the moon.

I didn’t look. I figured it was going to be easier today because it was hard yesterday. I don’t know why I thought that, but I did. He fooled me. Or else everything is just hard. But my plan was to get to the box again today, have tomorrow off to head home, and then participate in CrossFit Summerville’s Barbells for Boobs event on Saturday. So I was awake and at CTF this morning.

Jenna was coaching today and Phil was participating. There were about a dozen of us again. Sara and Mark were there and someone else who had participated in the Masters Garage Games this past weekend. It seems we all lived through it. Everyone was recovered and working again.

Today’s WOD as written:
MOB: Ankles. Hamstrings. Hips. T-spine. Shoulders.
WU:
100 double leg singles
50 single leg singles on the right leg
50 single leg singles on the left leg
100 alternating leg singles
50 double unders
THIS WARMUP HAS A 5:00 CAP.
REVIEW: Sumo deadlift. Front Squat.
S: Sumo Deadlift. 3-3-3-3-3. WU up to something medium heavy and then go. This workout has a 20:00 cap.
C: For time:
5-4-3-2-1 front squats at 70% of your 1RM (barbell starts on the ground)
100-80-60-40-20 double unders
Perform 5 front squats, 100 DU’s, 4 front squats, 80 DU’s… etc… until completion.
THIS WORKOUT HAS A 10:00 CAP. You may squat clean the first front squat.
PURPOSE: Strength. Power. Skill Practice. Stamina.
LIII: Weight of choice.
LII: Weight of choice. 60-50-40-30-20
LI: Weight of choice. 20-20-15-15-10 (attempts count) or 100-80-60-40-20 single unders/toe taps to a plate
PWMOB: Lax ball in glutes. Pigeon Pose. Hamstrings. Rollout ankles.
Advanced: 75% of your 1RM.
Endurance: None

I knew I was in trouble when the warm-up had a time cap.

We did mobility and I’m getting the hang of their routine for this. Then all the jump work. Double leg singles is the same thing as single unders, and then the right leg and left leg and then alternating legs and then double unders all made sense. Since there was a time cap on this, I was safe. I made it through the single unders without a problem and then I just went to hell in a handbasket. My balance is bad enough to be a problem and I just didn’t manage to string very many jumps together regardless of which foot. And my heart rate was going too high, too. I got 200 jumps done and God alone knows how many misses before the five minutes was up.

I have done sumo deadlifts before but it has been a very long time since then. My stance was wrong and my form was wrong and it was all wrong. I was up to 105# and then Coach Jenna had me back off the weight and work on my form. Setting my feet farther apart was helpful and it was better but still very, very awkward.

Then on to the WOD. My 1 rep max for a front squat is 90 pounds. The goal for the biggie kids was 70% of their one rep max and for the weenie old farts, it was 60%. I don’t know what I was thinking, but I decided that 55# was all I really felt capable of cleaning. Here at home, after coffee and being awake, I find out that 54# is, in fact, 60% of my max. Who knew I was choosing correctly instead of being a weenie?

I could manage cleaning that much and then doing the squats with it without stopping. The reps were 5, then 100 single unders, 4 squats and 80 single unders, 3 squats and 60 single unders, 2 squats and 40 single unders, and finishing with 1 squat and 20 single unders. I had no interest in trying to do double unders.

I could manage the squats, rest, do the jumps, rest, do the squats, rest, etc. all the way through this. I missed my first jump in the 60 reps and missed one in the 40 reps as well. Otherwise I just kept jumping and wishing I was finished. My heart rate got as high as 173, but I would sit and box breathe and then get back to work. On the last round, I did the 1 squat and picked up the rope and got the 20 jumps in to finish in 8.45. I was sure I wasn’t going to get through this whole thing and yet I had time to spare.

This was a sprint WOD and Jenna said something to me once about “keep going” and I just pointed to my watch. I really can’t keep going unless they want me really hurt. I wish I had a younger heart or could figure out why my heart rate goes so high so fast, but I can’t have either of those things. So, the only thing I can really manage is working with the stuff I have and try not to kill myself while I’m being healthy. That’s the plan anyway.

Some visiting daughter brought her mother with her to see what we did there. I talked to the mother after the WOD was over and told her it was possible for women our age to do this. She asked my age, probably hoping to tell me she was older, but she was exactly my age. She said she wasn’t athletic. I said I wasn’t either. I told her when I started, I could do nothing and even today, doing something weird, I was lifting over 100#. She seemed dubious.

As hard as this is, I wish others could see how great it is to achieve even the crappy rep counts and the high times I get. Knowing that most people my age can’t do what I do four times a week makes me seem athletic. It makes me feel sorta powerful, even when I’m a weenie.

10275920_10152179388343581_3338378904078169340_n

