After three workouts in one day, I wasn’t sure what would happen for the coming week. I was hoping I could do a workout or two at my son’s box. I brought clothes for that eventuality, but wasn’t sure I could actually make it happen.

On Sunday, I wasn’t sore. Well, my right shoulder wasn’t 100% but I could tell it wasn’t going to be too bad. Nothing was horrible and nothing didn’t work. I was going to be okay. This is more remarkable than anything else. I can’t believe I did this. I’m the worst person on the entire country’s leaderboard. I think that means I had the most balls and maybe should have stayed home. Instead, I participated and completed the events. That makes me a badass.

So, I decided I would go the 8 AM class today. I got there and Conviction Training Facility does this way different than CrossFit Summerville. CTF begins with mobilization and the warm-up is written and the same for everyone rather than designed by the coach for the class. The skill and the workout were related. And the levels are clearly marked out.

Today’s WOD as written:
MOB: Ankles. Hamstrings. Hips. Shoulders.
WU:
10 T2B
20 Pushups
REVIEW: Power Clean
S: Power Clean. 12 minutes to a tap and go triple.
C: 5 RFT of:
3 power cleans at 85% of the day’s 1RM
10 T2B
20 pushups
THIS WORKOUT HAS A 15:00 CAP.
PURPOSE: Speed strength. Grip Strength. Stamina. C/R Endurance.
LIII: 5 T2B. 12 pushups.
LII: 10 T2B @ sub of choice. 20 Pushups @ sub of choice.
LI: Hang power cleans okay. 5 T2B @ sub of choice. 12 pushups @ sub of choice.
PWMOB: Lax ball in C/S/B/Forearms. U/D dog x3. Stretch hamstrings.
Advanced: None
Endurance: 80%
The Mar: Remember your favorite joke with Jim.

The warm-up was completed and then we worked on the power cleans. CTF has 15 pound bars and I worked with that. They also have 15# plates. I began warming up with 35# and then went to 45# and then 55# and got to 60# and my shoulder began to give out with 65#. So I didn’t try go higher than that. I did get the three touch and go with the 65# and then began calculating the WOD.

During the warm-up, we went through possible progressions and I mentioned that I was used to doing push-ups on the bar and Coach Phil said I could do that if I was comfortable with it. I did knees to elbows for the progression on the toes to bar since I can’t do that.

We then were ready to get moving on our 5 RFT. I used a 45# bar for the cleans on this and then had my station ready for the other moves. All was ready and time began. I knew that it was going to be tough on my heart rate.

On the first two rounds, I split the knees to elbows 3 and 2 and then figured out I didn’t really have to stop. I could get all five done and not slip off the bar. I did have to keep splitting the push-ups in half until the very end. When I didn’t have to have a next round to continue, I managed the 12 push-ups unbroken. I finished last, as always, in 11.37. I wasn’t last by a whole lot, but I was last.

My butt hurt by the time I got home. But that’s part of the CrossFit world. I’ve been shopping all day and everything seems to be working. I think it’s all good.

10302394_10152180886983581_4569832936903837930_n

