I have been so scared. I have been so unsure of this decision. I have second guessed myself repeatedly. I have wondered if I was nuts. The one thing I didn’t do was think I was going to have fun.

There was one other lady over the age of 60. She did better than me, so I took second place. I have a medal. I earned a medal because I showed up even though I was scared and unsure and I completed my workouts to the best of my ability. Mostly, I didn’t die – which to me was very important.

I was given the task of doing the workouts out of order. I was inside first and doing WOD #2

10 min AMRAP
3,6,9,12,15 etc
bar over burpees
shoulder to overhead 45#

I had a score of 57. That means I got through the 3, 5, 9 and got the 12 burpees and then got 5 shoulder to overhead. The most I ever got was starting the 12 burpees but couldn’t finish them let alone get to the shoulder to overhead. My heart rate was high, and I had to keep resting to get it back down. But I never stopped – I only rested. Way too much, but without quitting.

Less than an hour later, it was time to do the first WOD. That was outside and the weather was beautiful. It poured last night and I was worried this would be in the rain. It wasn’t. Thank goodness.

18-12-6
deadlifts 65#
step-ups 20” box.

My best time on this when I wasn’t participating or competing was 6.02. Today, I finished in 4.12. The expected time for this was in the 3 to 4 minute range. If we know anything, we know that I’m always way over the expected time. I had a plan on when to rest and when to push on this and I worked it. Resting more often for less time worked. That is quite a time difference and I’m very happy with this.

Then there was a three hour break. In that time, the friends we are vacationing with made it to the island. They had a chance to watch me do this and I was more worried about that than anything else. By this time, I was having too much fun to really worry about it. The other woman and I had been hanging out and Cheryl was an amazing woman. She has been CrossFitting for 2.5 years and in that time has lost 100 pounds. She was such an inspiring woman and we were having so much fun not dying that we forgot anything else. Her time and rep count on the first two WODs meant that she was going to win. She thought she might try double unders and I advised against it. I told her that if she did, I might win the third WOD. She did single unders.

15 min AMRAP
30 jumps, single unders or double unders – athletes choices
20 wall balls 10# to 8’ line
10 clean and jerks 45#

The most I have ever done on this one was barely into the second round. This is the one that I practiced the most for. I have strategized and worked at this. I learned that the wall balls should be 5-5-5-5 and the clean and jerks had to be 2-2-2-2-2 or I would be too wiped out to continue at all. It still took lots of resting and too much time not doing anything. But even with people from the sidelines urging me to “one more rep” I worked my plan. I got a score of 176 or just four clean and jerks shy of three complete rounds. Cheryl’s score was 179 which meant she had just 3 more clean and jerks than me. I asked if she was happy she chose to go with the single unders and she said she was.

DeWayne and Scott both took first place in their age brackets. DeWayne was in the men’s RX ages 50-54 and Scott was men’s scaled ages 40-44. They were awesome to watch. We had our cheering section and I was beyond grateful to both Kim and Ryan for coming down to cheer us on and help us out. It was an awesome day.

And as scared as I was, it is amazing how much fun I had. I would highly recommend this sort of behavior. Stepping outside your comfort zone does indeed make the magic happen.

Me, DeWayne, Scott

Me, DeWayne, Scott

