We finally got to see Frankie again this weekend. It has been such a long time since we last got to play. I taught her about alliterations and she was liking the idea okay right up until I got to Pepper the puppy pooped and then it was brilliant. Nothing like bathroom talk to engage a five year old. We also discussed that phoning Frankie is fantastically fun is an alliteration even though it starts with a different letter. She has the idea down and I hope she doesn’t go to school with the Pepper the puppy thing. Best Nana ever!

Craig and I discussed at length The Masters Tour Games. He would not be embarrassed by me no matter what I did. I should sign up and have fun. It will be fun, he said. We discussed my heart rate issues and some training strategies. My plan would not have been the best one and he will devise something a bit better than what I, a non-coach, thought was good. That’s why they make professionals. So I got home and signed up for the event and now I am committed. Or should be.

The moon was dazzling this morning. Not because it was a beautiful full moon brightly shining, but because it was veiled behind a gauzy sheath of fog which made it so much more alluring. Gorgeous drive to the box.

Warm-up was a slow row and I could manage that. Lunge down the mat backwards and Maribel was having trouble and kept Coach Ryan busy enough that he didn’t see how badly I was doing. I kept an eye on my heart rate and managed to not get over 140. Ryan complex down the mat the other way and then bear crawl back. Going slowly and not racing through it kept my heart rate from ever going over 150.

Today’s WOD as written:
Front squat 10 x 2 @ 60%
Then
EMOM for 7 minutes
Bear complex (clean, front squat, push press, back squat, push press)
Red = med ball
White = 60% of body weight
Blue = 70% of body weight
(3 burpee penalty for dropping the bar)
5 AM challenge – it was easier than one might expect, apparently
Two extra single rounds and then on the tenth round, try to do a complete bear complex (7 rounds)

Since none of this is posted the night before, I have to do math stuff there. There is a sheet with percentages but they never have my exact weight because I’m not on a zero ending number ever. My phone has a calculator and I know how to use it. I found out my weight should be 49.8 pounds. I was using a 22# bar and I could have switched out to a 45 pound bar and gotten exactly to 50 pounds, but I was too lazy. There is no other excuse possible. Instead, I just used 52# and did the ten sets of two. I had my 2.5# plate under my right heel.

Maribel was having issues with her one leg being shorter thing. I suggested a plate under her heel and she looked at me suspiciously and I pointed to my weight sitting on the floor. She tried one and liked it and did her squats better. Then I wondered if I would be able to have a plate under my heel at the games and decided probably not. But, it is possible to have different shoes. I have running shoes that are built different and do not have the flat sole that my CrossFit shoes have. It might work to have one running and one CrossFit shoe and sort of level myself out with shoes instead of a plate.

Then on to the bear complex thing. I knew a med ball was too little. If I had known in advance, I could have looked at what I have used in the past with this move. I topped out at 32# back then. (I looked it up to write this.) But I didn’t have that option since it is a secret what the WODs are because some people cherry pick. I admit I cherry pick. I hate the partner WODs and have adjusted my schedule so I don’t have to deal with them. But I don’t just not show up because I don’t like the WOD as written.

I may be able to clean 60% of my body weight but probably not. I certainly can’t throw it over my head. I’m a weenie. I got that. But the red option was all I had left and it was too little, a ten pound med ball was ridiculous, even for me.

I began with just a 22# bar and it was so light, I couldn’t stand it. I got a 33# pound bar after round two and really should have grabbed a 45# bar and done that or put plates on my 22# bar and made it the right height. I certainly could have gotten through the EMOM part with that. On the last round, I got four sets in and stopped with a heart rate of 171. I would have had less reps at the end, but who cares. I really need to have more faith in myself.

By the time I was ready to head home, fog and crept in on little cat feet or perhaps mammoth duck feet or something because it was so foggy it was difficult to see to drive. Luckily it isn’t far to get home and I managed it. I tried on two different shoes, one running shoe and one CrossFit shoe and it felt really weird and I wouldn’t want to run like that. But for a weight lifting WOD, it might work. I’m not sure about how Craig will feel if his mother is wearing mismatched shoes at the games. But if it works; it works.

1511110_754774877869392_1209125357_n

