Yesterday, we walked up to Harris Teeter so I could get my spring mix/spinach for my weekly lunch salads. It is 3.4 miles round trip, so we did a 5K – plus a little more. That was the sum total of my activity this weekend unless laundry counts and then I did that, too.

I did get some writing done, so that was good. Mostly I had a quiet weekend that was short by one day since I had to work on Thursday to make up for being on vacation on Monday. At least this coming week should be “normal” except that Mandi is leaving for a four week trip and will be out of the office beginning Wednesday. But that’s just work and not my real life.

I was awake before the alarm this morning but it still rattled by nerves when it went off. I had gained a couple pounds while misbehaving on vacation and opted to weigh myself first thing this morning and I was back to my goal weight, so that’s a plus. And now I think I’m fresh out of plusses for the day.

I got to the box and first was a 400 meter run and so I did my 300 meters and didn’t have whatever it takes to even run the entire 300. Then we did a lot of fun around-the-perimeter-of-the-box type things and my heart rate was already over 160 with that nonsense. We were finally declared warm and we were off to the WOD.

Today’s WOD as written:
20 minutes of handstand work
Modified Cindy
4 min AMRAP
5 pull-ups
10 push-ups
15 squats
2 min rest
4 min AMRAP
5 pull-ups
10 push-ups
15 squats

There were four of us there this morning. I was the only one who couldn’t do handstands. Hannah and Steve were really good at it. Todd can get them. I did a few headstands. Hannah and Steve did handstands against a band stretched on the bars. I tried, with Coach Ryan’s help, to do a handstand on the wall and instantly regretted my decision. He did not let me fall, but I would have if left to my own devices. Probably right on my head.

The idea of the WOD was to go all out for 4 minutes, rest the two minutes, and then go again and see how close you could come to your first score.

All out means different things to different people. I don’t really have anything less than an all out because my all is minimal. So I always go all out. It just might not look like it from the outside.

I read over the weekend at some CrossFit thing that doing band assisted pull-ups before you can do 10-15 solid ring rows is not helpful. Doing ring rows actually helps develop the correct muscles one would use in doing pull-ups. I did ring rows today.

I tried non-wormy push-ups with two abmats under my chest for the first half and they really sucked. But when I switched to girl push-ups which were hopefully also non-wormy, they sucked too. I guess push-ups just suck. I can do squats.

My heart rate was over 160 after the first round and for the first AMRAP my score was 2+11. I loved the two minutes of rest and actually had no problems whatsoever during that time. The second round was much like the first and I was pooped and had to rest often. My score was 2+5.

I spoke with Ryan about this Masters Game crap. I am bringing the 15 min AMRAP WOD with me on Thursday during open gym and will give it a go and see how it works. I’m not sure how good I will be when 4 minutes was kicking my ass. There is only the choice to try or not try. Or as Yoda would say, do or do not, there is no try.

10296777_1435256596724856_4741223175993907455_n

