Last Friday I had to leave my sisters. This was my shortest sistercation ever and that was difficult to manage. But I had things to do and people to see and had to leave. Cheri and Pam brought me up to Columbus and Rose Ann came and picked me up. She delivered me to Elyria where Dick could get me and off we went to the next round of family things. I can’t believe she would do that for us. Childhood friends are the best.

Bellfield girls

Bellfield girls

We got to the hotel and then the next stop was going to Hazel’s Restaurant, established in 1945 unless it was 1948, but a long time ago. Cousin John’s wife either owns or manages the place. All the Higgins family cousins meet there on Fridays and have dinner together. Well, not all, because some of the cousins aren’t local. But Tom, John, Bill, and Dave and their families were there before the three Hysell siblings showed up. I had a Lake Erie perch dinner and it was fantastic. I love Lake Erie perch.

Saturday morning we met Joe and Sarah and two realtors (buyer and seller) at their new house so we could take a tour. It is lovely. There are so many built in things. The original owner was a carpenter and did all sorts of really neat things. The yard is huge and there a family next door with an above ground swimming pool. I’m thinking they might be the kids new best friends.

From there, we went to the wedding and Leanne was gorgeous. She was wearing her mother’s wedding dress. Everything was low key and the evening was delightful. Joe and his family came and the kids danced the night away. Dylan was worried about having the right dance steps so he and Joe would go outside and develop new moves.

Wedding party

Wedding party

Sunday we had the kids all day while Joe moved all the big stuff from the rental house to a storage place. They have to be out before they get the keys to the new house so they will be staying with Amy for about a week until they can have possession. We had the kids in the pool, took them out to lunch, put them back in the pool, and then we all met at Bubba’s BBQ for dinner. Dylan and Morgan could barely keep their eyes open. Aiden had no problem. But of course, he is much bigger – he had a growth spurt since we last saw him and he is at least four inches taller than when they moved north.

Monday was spent flying home. All the flights were on time and there were no problems. We got back to the house by 7 PM and then I had a couple loads of laundry to do so I had clothes for the week. Well, I mostly needed clean underwear as I have closets full of clothes. But I did the laundry I needed and then it was back to work on Tuesday.

I set the alarm for this morning and was up with the birds – possibly before them. Getting back to working out is difficult. While I was gone, they decided they would no longer post the workout the night before. So I had to go in there blind, as it were, not knowing at all what I would be doing. This was not a good omen but probably a great choice since if I had seen the WOD, I would have freaked out.

We began our warm-up with a 400 meter run and all I could think of was how delighted both Cheri and Marge would have been. We did lots of other stuff and then some mobility. The part that is the most irritating for me is that I can no longer copy and paste the WOD into a blog and have to type it out. That is just too much!

The other thing they did was scale the WODs on the board. Red is beginner or people with injuries or limitations like being older than dirt or something. I’m a Red. White is for people who are CrossFitters but don’t care to compete. Black is for the competitors. They will get calls for no reps as needed and are held to a higher standard. Yesterday, each color had a different scaling. Today, white and black shared the WOD.

Today’s WOD as not written:
Red
15 pull-ups
15 squat cleans (65/45)
15 push-ups
30 overhead lunges (25/10)
800 meter run
30 overhead lunges (25/10)
15 push-ups
15 squat cleans (65/45)
15 pull-ups

The White and Black had 25 of each of the 15 rep moves and 50 lunges and higher weights. The cleans were 95 and 65 and the squats were 45 and 25. The run was the same for everybody.

Just what I needed after being off for two weeks. I was told I could shorten the run which was nice. I used the weights as listed and used a green band for pull-ups but no kipping. When using a band, they have to be strict.

The last time I tried weighted lunges was long ago and I hurt myself. I have assiduously avoided them since, but if I ever want to improve, I need to at least try. I got the pull-ups done and had to break up the cleans in sets of two or three because my heart rate was so high. I got the push-ups, strict from my knees and in sets of five and then the lunges. They nearly killed me but I got them done.

I walked the entire way for my run and cut it in half. I got back and got 18 lunges done when I had to stop. My body was in revolt. I was sure I was going to puke and everything I had hurt. I had been working for 21+ minutes and I was simply done.

With discretion as the better part of valor, I simply stopped and figured out that I can come back tomorrow and work some more. So that is what I will do. It’s not the best thing in the world, but it is a plan. And I will get back in the swing of working out and by next week, I will still be old and feeble, but hopefully, I will be able to finish the WOD.

