I know that mobilization is important even for young folks. So for old farts, it is essential. You would think that being of above average intelligence and having this information at hand, it would be easy to simply take the time each day to do this. You would think that and you would be wrong. Night before last, I didn’t even give it a thought until I was climbing into bed at 10.30 and by then it was too late. Last evening, I thought of it at 8 PM and managed to get some of the soreness from the overhead work taken care of. Much smarter. I really wish I was that smart all the time.

I still haven’t decided on whether or not to take a chance on public humiliation or not. Today’s experience didn’t help me come to a final decision. I looked at the WOD last night and was trying to decide how weenie I am and should I knock off the first ten of each move. 45 kettlebell swings would be a lot of work. But could I do 55?

I was up in the middle of the night for at least an hour and this was part of the constant talk inside my head that kept me awake. How much can I do and how much should I push? It wasn’t the whole thing, but I did take time to consider this at 1 AM because … why not?

It was very difficult to wake up when the alarm went off because of all the time I forgot to sleep during the night. But I made it to the box and I couldn’t believe what I was hearing in the parking lot. There were barbells hitting the floor. Why in the name of all that is holy would there be barbells hitting the floor. I walked inside.

People were jumping on boxes and climbing ropes and doing all manner of things there were not kettlebell swings and pull-ups. What fresh new hell was this?

Today’s WOD as written:
Back squat 5@75% 5@80% 5@85% (add 5 lbs to max and recalculate %)
10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1
KBS (2p/1.5 p)
Strict pull ups

Instead

Today’s WOD as really:
Back squat 5@75% 5@80% 5@85% (add 5 lbs to max and recalculate %)
“Charleston 9″
9 Rounds For Time
3 Rope Ascents
6 HSPU
9 Box Jumps (30/24)
6 Toes to Bar
3 Dead Lift (275/225)

June 18th 2007 a fire in Charleston, SC claimed the lives of 9 firefighters after a flashover and structural collapse.
From the time of the initial call to the collapse was 37 minutes.  
“The Charleston 9″
Captain Louis Mulkey
Captain Mike Benke
Firefighter Melven Champaign
Captain Billy Hutchinson
Engineer Brad Baity
Firefighter Earl Drayton
Engineer Mark Kelsey
Engineer Michael French
Firefighter Brandon Thompson

First the back squats. They were killing me today. I did the math at home last night and was supposed to do 81, 86, and 92 pounds. Since we don’t have weights that allow for that, I did 82, 87, and 92 pounds. I have no idea why, but I was simply failing at this. I could get four reps in and then stop and on the 92 pounds I only got 3 reps in before failure. I think I was panicking about the hero WOD and not being a hero and not yet having determined who would do what. I was trying to sell Ricky on him doing ⅔ and me doing ⅓ but he wasn’t buying it. He should have.

I have all the above information about this WOD because we did this last year. Back then, I was partnered with Sabre and Cindy and Todd were working together. Today, Cindy and I were a team and Todd was working with Dave. Brent worked alone and did five rounds and Ricky, like last year, was still working, doing it solo and RX, when I left at 7.08.

I did exactly no moves as written. We were given an option of angle pull-ups with a 5:1 ratio and we took that. Cindy can do HSPU but I can’t and was allowed to do regular ones. I used a couple abmats and did strict without worming ones. I used a 14” box for the jumps while Cindy did 24” and we both had to do knees as high as we could manage for the toes to bar. My deadlift weight was 92# and I’m not sure what was on Cindy’s bar.

The plan was for me to do 8 and Cindy 7 of the angle pull-ups, split the push-ups in half, me do 4 and her 5 of the box jumps, split the knees to elbows, and me do 1 and her 2 of the deadlift. But, her hands weren’t liking the angle pull-ups so after the first round, I did ten and she did five. That worked until round eight when I was simply losing steam. I could get the first five, but was pooped. So if she did five, I would have enough steam for another five. She did six instead and I did the last four. Then she did four HSPU and I did two and the rest was as we had decided. We were done in 22.20 which was spectacular. But even more important, we were done before Todd and Dave which for Cindy is always the real goal.

I was so tempted to just turn around and walk out of there this morning. But I was so exhausted and had woken up specifically to get a workout in and it is all scalable and I was already there and any number of other reasons. I’m so glad I stayed. When I look back to a year ago, I was using much less weight on the deadlifts, a shorter box, my knees weren’t anywhere near as high, and my time was 25.21. Cindy should be happy as well since her time last year was 31 minutes +. So we worked really hard and have both improved since last year. Thanks to all first responders who put their lives on the line so the rest of us don’t have to.

1381645_418436748268629_1657236567_n

