I successfully avoided partner WOD day and had far more fun. Dick and I went on a two hour guided kayak trip. Botany Bay Ecotours is on Edisto Island and our kayak with the dolphins trip was great. We saw two different groups of dolphins. The first had three dolphins while the second pod had about eight, one of them a juvenile. They were less than fifty yards from us at their closest.

Dick mentioned a couple times how impressive my muscles were while I paddled. I work out. The only thing sore after two hours was my thumbs. I should have taped them since I was starting to get blisters from rubbing on the paddle. Other than that, it was a beautiful day. I’m glad it was scheduled for earlier in the day since it was getting really hot by the time we got out of the water.

Then on to the box this morning for open gym. I got there slightly before nine and warmed up before most of the people were even there. That gives me the choice of setting up wherever I want. I want right in front of the fan. Perfect place and I claim it.

I did a 200 meter run and was beeping when I got back. I did other warm-up things and then some stretching and declared myself warm enough.

Today’s WOD as written:
Skill by CrossFit Summerville
Deadlift – 5 @ 75%
5 @ 80%
5+ @ 85%
WOD by Conviction Training Facility home of CrossFit Hilton Head aka, Craig
10 double unders (attempts count) or 30 singles
10 DL @ 70# KB (this will feel light and this is GOOD!)
20 WB at weight of choice (medium to light medball is suggested… make it about technique and steady movement, not weight!)
10 DL @ 70# KB
40 hanging knee raises or 60 situps
10 DL @ 70# KB
20 WB at weight of choice
10 DL @ 70# KB
10 double unders (attempts count) or 30 singles
If you were working out here, I would put a 15:00 cap on this workout to help you choose weights correctly and understand the energy domains we are trying to push. But that’s just me and I don’t want to take over your gym’s philosophy or programming…

I got a one rep max last week with my deadlift and so I had to sit here and do math before I left for the box. Okay, I had to enter numbers into Google and let it be a calculator. Then I had to take the actual decimal point number and turn it into a weight that I could place on a bar. According to all this math stuff (who knew CrossFit was so full of math?) I used 108# for the 75% and 113# for the 80% and got five of each. I asked Coach Mike about resetting on the sets of five. My grip was slipping and when I put the bar down, I reset my hands. Technically, this is not allowed and it is touch and go. I did that with the 118# and got five reps. I could have reset and gotten another one or two, but I was happy with this performance and called it a day.

For the WOD, I hadn’t really decided on how to handle the middle, but I figured I had time between start and middle to figure that out. I knew I didn’t want to mess with double unders to start and just did the 30 single unders and I could get in the ten deadlifts before I started to beep. Then it was all downhill on the heart rate front.

I got my heart rate under 150 and did wall balls in 7-7-6 scheme using a ten pound med ball. It is the lightest we have except for the kid four pound one. I got the deadlifts done and was beeping and the time was around six minutes in. Hanging knee raises was going to make my heart rate go too high, too often. I figured I could do sit-ups with less problem there so I got an abmat and did 30-15-15 (about 5-10 second pauses) and got them done without ever beeping.

I stood up in front of the bar and my heart rate went higher and higher. I tried to wait patiently, but instead of coming down, it went from 148 to 155 and just stayed there. I got to 150 – finally – after waiting for way too long and got the deadlifts in. Then back to wall balls and the 7-7-6 scheme. My heart rate was 161 when I was done and there was over 14 minutes gone. I had twenty more moves. I decided to do them. I got the ten deadlifts done. I rested. Then I got one double under and one attempt, one double under and a miss, and then a miss. My heart rate was 171. This wasn’t going to work. I figured I would just finish with single unders and I was at 23 before I realized I really only needed to do 15, but then I just did the 30 anyway because why stop that close? I finished in 17.25.

I was speaking with another coach post WOD and she said how good my moves were. I was complaining about being old (I know, that is a shock, isn’t it?) and she said I moved better than some 40 or 50 year olds. That was nice. I had taken my shirt off after the last wallballs and Kim pointed out that I was sporting a six pack. Not too bad for an old fart who came in fat and flabby.

It is so much better when I don’t have to feel like I’m holding a partner back. I still push myself, but only to my own limits.

As I was getting ready to write this, I copied and pasted from the email Craig sent me. It was only then that I noticed the 10 DL @ 70# KB and I have no idea what that KB means. I also can’t get a bar to weigh 70# and so I used 73# but I don’t think that makes much difference.

It was much cooler today, only in the 70s and so the whole experience was simply wonderful. I worked hard without actual melting and felt good about the WOD instead of feeling like an anchor around someone else’s neck.

66005950760633939_kQQ9Kp0m_c

