Yesterday my new thing was knitting for many rows (20) without making a mistake! Unfortunately, they weren’t the first twenty rows, so there is still ample room for personalization in the project.

I looked at the WOD last night and cringed and had to tell myself that I don’t get to cherry pick but I do get to whine. It is all scalable. My plan was to go to the noon class and so I stuck with that. I went grocery shopping early in the morning and got it put away and still had plenty of time to piddle around before heading to the box.

We began with a row and then did lots of mobilization to fire our glutes and I believe mine have been on strike and deserved to be fired, with enthusiasm. But I got through it and realize that actually using the right muscles to do certain moves would make my life much easier. But that isn’t always so easy.

Today’s WOD as written:
Banded hip movements – spend 20 minutes enjoying your favorite glute activation movements with bands around your knees. Make your goal to make trips across the mat by first just walking forward then backward. Keep your feet pointed perfectly parallel to the direction of travel and your knees over your feet. Feeling saucy, make it a trip or two sideway in a split jerk.
then
for time:
75 front squats (135/95) – no rack
At the top of every minute perform 8 walking lunges

I have issues with selecting muscles and using the right ones. Today, I could do most of what was asked of me, but really, the whole banded together stuff made me use the correct muscles whether I wanted to or not. I think that was the idea.

When I looked at the workout, I knew I was in trouble. First of all, I can deadlift 95 pounds, but I can’t clean it so there was no way I was going to be doing 75 front squats with it. My one rep max front squat was 83# the last time I tried. I wasn’t sure I could squat with weight at all, but I tried. I began with the 22# bar and it was okay for ten squats. Then I went to 32# and it didn’t hurt. I’m sure I could have done 42# but I was beeping with just ten 32# squats.

Kym and I were the only ones there and I whined and asked what was on offer for old farts. I don’t even know the coach’s name for today, I have seen her before, but I can’t remember her name. She let me pick and I opted for half the workout. Which I said was 40 squats, but I also cut the lunges in half because I knew what was going to happen. I really prefer someone else telling me what I should do, but I do realize that she only knew I was old and my heart rate goes sky high. She didn’t know enough to tell me how hard to push.

We got to start with squats, I beeped before a minute was up, rested, got a couple more in, and then it was time to lunge. Then it was only a ten seconds until it was time to lunge and I was still beeping but thought it was just stupid and so I got a few more squats in and then it was time to lunge. But as I stood there with a heart rate around 168, I thought I was never going to get anywhere like this. So I did nothing but let my heart rate come back down and then lunged again and could get another ten or so squats in. I got to the lunges and had to do nothing until it was again time for the lunges. Repeat as needed. I had only seven more to do after six minutes and could finish, so I did. I got done in 6.33.

I probably should have gone for 50 reps and just sat around for another minute and done nothing and gotten in the ten, but I didn’t. I knew this was going to kill my legs but it wasn’t as bad as it might have been, mostly because I didn’t do it all.

Then it was time for the rest of my day and I managed to get in something really new and different. Mandi’s neighbor was having a Pampered Chef party and she asked me to come along. I did. I found the place even though I had no idea where I was going AND I got back out of twirling subdivision in the dark and made it back home. I hate driving places where I don’t know where I’m going. I also hate driving in the dark. But I did it. And I got some new stuff on the way.

I’ve looked at the WOD for tomorrow and it is a partner WOD. I’m going early in the morning, not because I’m afraid of making the noon people hate me, but because I have a massage scheduled for 10 AM and I don’t want to get home and an hour later get all sore again. So I’m up in the middle of the night. I really need to plan this out better.

1381648_377843712346233_697645762_n

