We had a lovely weekend and went for a wonderful hike in the woods yesterday. It was a sunny, warm day and the walk was perfect. We followed trails and crossed bridges and bounced along springy paths loaded with pine needles or crunchy leaves. It was delightful. We were also the only people there without a dog, but … we don’t have a dog. And we really didn’t see that many people, either.

Last night we had shrimp on the barbie and it, too, was great. All in all, it was just a relaxing and refreshing weekend. And then I had to set the alarm in order to get up in the middle of the night.

I got to the box and the lot was full, but that was because of the 5 AM class. They had 15 people there while we had five at our class. Jeremy, Justin, Ricky, Todd, and me. Notice anything there? I felt a bit out numbered.

Before class started, I remembered to do my negative pull-ups and on the first one of each round I could hold at the top and descend slower, but the second one wasn’t as good. Then rest and still the same. I don’t understand it, but I will keep working at holding and lowering slowly and eventually, I will master this, too.

Warm-up was a 400 meter run and I did my little 300 or so meter run and Ricky and Jeremy both still beat me back. The pinging in my knee was less, but still there. Lots of other stuff and I could even do a bear crawl this morning without problems.

Today’s WOD as written:

Front Squats – 6 x 6 @ 70% 1RM

If you do not have a 1RM, spend the time establishing one.
If you do not have a full-depth (coach approved) front squat, work on the movement to your progression level including mobility.

then

21-15-9

Kettlebell Swings (53/35)
Slam Balls (40/25)
Overhead Walking Lunge (45/25)

Rx is going to be based off of your form not your weight. You can post Rx @ (your weights) if you maintain:

Full extension of arms, knees & hips and a vertical body position at the top of your kettlebell swings AND slam balls AND overhead walking lunges.

Squatting (not bending at the waist) and catching the slam ball before it bounces a second time at the bottom of your slam balls.

Knee touching the ground on every step of your overhead walking lunges.

Every one of these movements should have you at some point during each rep standing very straight and vertical with the object directly over your head without a bend in your elbows, knees or hips and an open, strong shoulder position.

No Reps for breaking form!!! (That means you don’t count it and you do another rep)

You might notice that things are spelled correctly and there are lots of words up there. Ryan is back to programming. I love you, Ryan – don’t tell Kim cuz she can kick my ass. But this is so much nicer than trying to kill me.

My PR on a front squat is 83# and so I worked with 53# today which is a bit less than I needed but you know … the knee thing. I did have the roller stick there with me and would roll out my leg between sets and it didn’t tighten up too much. I hope.

I asked Coach Jason (boy, there were a lot of J people there today) if I should go with 15# and do real kettlebell swings or 20# and do Russian swings. He said the full movement would be better. Then he set me up with a 10# med ball and I did clean and jerks with that instead of slam balls which would have just killed me. And since my knee is just barely able to do a lunge, I did lunges while holding a PVC pipe overhead. It did make me stay more upright.

I did a lot of beeping and had to waste way too much time trying to get my heart rate back down to a life sustaining level. Everyone was done and I was still working on the clean and jerks and still had lunges to do, but my heart rate was so high. Jason was saying “Only nine steps” and I was saying “My heart rate is 175” and so I got it down to 172 and started the lunges. I finished in 11.13 and I was sucking air in a heap on the ground for over 30 seconds before my beeping stopped.

I like being challenged without being stomped into the ground. I can’t imagine trying to do this with the slam balls at that number. I would still be there working. Tomorrow about noon and I might be finished.

Jeremy has the coolest motorcycle. It is a Ural, like the mountains in Russia. It is a Russian bike which he brought back when stationed in Bahrain, all orange with a sidecar. It is simply way cool. We talked about that as we headed back to our cars and our regularly scheduled lives on the outside. All made better by pushing ourselves inside the box.

crossfit-kettle-ball-718x581c

