I know better than to look, but I wanted to know whether or not to get up in the middle of the night. Perhaps I need to make an executive decision that I simply WILL get up on Friday mornings and if it is a team WOD, that will be great. If it isn’t, at least I’m done with the box early. Looking is bad for my health.

But I looked. Then I looked at the WOD for CrossFit Hilton Head and knew that was a better option. But, I don’t belong to CrossFit Hilton Head, I am a member of CrossFit Summerville. They were doing a team WOD. A hero WOD. Carma and I work together as a team each Friday. We are always, always, always happy to incorporate a third person into our team as well.

The 5 AM class has been so full that finding a parking space isn’t always easy for us 6 AMers. Today, the lot was almost empty. There were four people at 5 AM and five at 6 AM. So now I really feel like a badass. I didn’t weenie out. There were actually six of us at 6 AM but Ricky is still dealing with a broken foot and can’t do our WODs. He modifies and does stuff so he burns off some energy, but …

Warm-up was a 200 meter run and then Ryan complex down the mat and then some cherry pickers and then bear crawl down the mat and crab walk back and then dislocates and passthroughs and PVC overhead squats. I RXd the dang warm-up. Then it was all downhill.

Today’s WOD as written:
Team BULL
2 Rounds
200 Double Unders
50 OHS (135/95)
50 Pull Ups
Run 1 mile

U.S. Marine Corps Captain Brandon “Bull” Barrett, 27, of Marion, Indiana, assigned to the 1st Battalion, 6th Marine Regiment, 2nd Marine Division, II Marine Expeditionary Force, based out of Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, was killed on May 5, 2010, while supporting combat operations in Helmand Province, Afghanistan. He is survived by his parents Cindy and Brett Barrett, his sisters Ashley and Taylor Barrett, his brother Brock Barrett, and his grandmother Carmen Johnson.

Only one person at a time could work and the run could be a relay. I can’t do double unders and neither can Carma. However, Todd didn’t come today and Cindy partnered with us. Kim and Ryan worked as a team, too. Each of us needed a different weight for the overhead squats. I just finally, finally managed to get these with a bar and so I called weenie and said I would do OH squats for the first round and front squats for the second. Carma uses a green and blue band for pull-ups and Cindy uses a blue one. So we had that set up and I would use both.

While I can’t do double unders at all, I’ve gotten pretty dang good at single unders. I managed 120 (I was using a 3:1 ratio) unbroken to start. I then would even out Cindy’s double unders to a nicer number on each round so got something like 96 or 93 or whatever worked to make math easier.

I managed ten OH squats the first time, but could only manage 7 after that so someone had to pick up my slack on that move. I was lucky to get that much, so I didn’t feel too bad.

On the first round of pull-ups, using both the green and blue band, I got 20 done and Cindy said I was a weenie and needed to only use the green band next round. The way the turns went, I didn’t need to do any of the rest of the pull-ups because we were already at 30 then.

Running was me doing 200, Carma doing 200, and Cindy doing 400 meters and then repeat for our mile. We got that done and went on to round two.

Single unders were about the same and the hardest part to keep track of. I could only manage 7 OH squats but didn’t weenie out to front squats. On the second time of my turn, I was hoping for rep 8 and ended without control of the bar. As I started to crumple, I knocked myself in the head. No blood at the time and no lump even now, so I must have had enough control to not really hurt myself.

I told Cindy I would try just the green band but I had never done that and I wasn’t sure how it was going to go. She’s yelling “Just kip it” and I’m trying my damnedest, and I managed to get seven – both times I tried it. I have to say it was much harder than the green and purple I have been using, but I really needed to move it up a notch, so thanks Cindy for pushing. Who knew she would do that?

Runs were the same mess and we finished in 44.01. I was exhausted. I was also amazed. I almost didn’t do this. I was going to wimp out and come to the 9 AM class. But we don’t cherry pick and our friends depend on us. So, keeping my usual partner in mind, I showed up. I don’t know if the dead heroes care about this at all, but if they do, I hope Bull knows I did my best and like him … I did it for the right reasons – friends, honor, beliefs.

HeroBullBarrett_th

