On a more positive note.

I purchased a small (11 pound) turkey to cook today. We love turkey and the stuffing I’ve been making for forty years now. I have no idea how I was brave enough to offer to cook dinner that first year we were married, but everything turned out and I have been using the same recipe for stuffing ever since. And of course, we wanted sticky buns and so I made a half batch of those for just us, too.

I found a recipe the other day for a vegetable. I bought the ingredients but I wasn’t really sure I was going to make it today. But cooking new things is fun and I wanted something new with our feast. This turned out so good I would make it even for a not holiday! I said I would post it if it turned out okay. IT DID!

APPLE CRANBERRY SQUASH BAKE

2 lb butternut squash, peeled and cut into thick slices or chunks
2-3 apples ( I like pink lady for some sweetness, or Granny Smith if you prefer tart) peeled and cut into chunks
1 c fresh organic cranberries
1/2 c raw pecan halves
Drizzle maple syrup
1/2 tsp mace
3 TBSP ghee, organic butter or refined coconut oil
1-2 TBSP flour
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp cinnamon

Directions

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Spray a large baking dish with Pam or Coconut Oil spray. Place the squash in the baking dish and layer the apples on the top, then add the pecans and the cranberries. Drizzle lightly with maple syrup. Then in a small bowl whisk together the flour, seasonings and salt and sprinkle on the top. Slice the butter or coconut oil into “pats” or small dots and dot the dish throughout. Use less if you like. Bake 50-60 minutes until done!

I used two different kinds of apples. One was a Granny Smith but I have no idea what the other one was. This could have been dessert, it was so tasty. Maybe it was supposed to be. I have no idea. I also didn’t have any mace in the house so I ignored that and I used almond flour because I still have some.

I love experimenting and finding something completely new to eat. I have eaten all the ingredients separately, but they sure tasted really good when put together.

I didn't take a picture until we had both taken some. I wasn't sure it was picture worthy. Well, it looked pretty, but if it didn't taste good ...

I didn’t take a picture until we had both taken some. I wasn’t sure it was picture worthy. Well, it looked pretty, but if it didn’t taste good …

