Lovely evening and I slept in this morning. Can’t really ask for more than that. I have opted to go to 9 AM open gym time on Thursday so I don’t have to set my alarm for a day I don’t have anything else to do. The issue is making myself go and I think I can do that.

I looked at the WOD last night and sighed. Just sighed. I do not love brutal workouts. I don’t know if I ever will.

We are doing Filthy Fifty today and I remembered doing that before so this morning I looked it up. I have done it twice before!

In May, I did 25 reps of 14″ box jumps, jumping pull-ups, 10# KB swings, walking lunges, knees to as high as I could get them, 22# push press, supermans, 4# wall balls, pushups instead of burpees, and 100 single jump ropes in 27.07.

We did this same WOD on November 5, 2012 so almost exactly one year ago. I was really new back then, but still already three months in. I did ten reps of each: 9″ box jumps, ring rows, 10# KB swings lunges, knee lifts, 22# push press, 4# wall ball, burpees, and 20 jump ropes in 19.45.

Since it is open gym, warm-up is whatever I want. I began with a 400 meter run and wasn’t sure I could make it. I did. I did a Ryan complex down the mat because I didn’t really want to do too many lunges here but I needed to stretch out, I held a squat for a minute, I did some dislocates and passthroughs and some backward passthroughs, some good mornings, some cherry pickers, and then stretched my shoulders and arms, concentrating on my bad right arm.

Today’s WOD as written:
Filthy Fifty
50 Box jump, 24/20 inch box
50 Jumping pull-ups
50 Kettlebell swings, 1 pood(both men and women)
Walking Lunge, 50 steps
50 Knees to elbows
50 Push press, 45/33 pounds
50 Back extensions
50 Wall ball shots, 20/14 pound ball
50 Burpees
50 Double unders

Ryan was sitting on the bench when I got there and so I asked for his input on the WOD. I had written the information above out and so I knew exactly what I was able to do when. I told him I wanted to increase on the KB swings but do Russians if that sounded good, and use a 10# wall ball. I was worried about the number or reps to go with. He suggested that I do the Dirty Thirty and do 30 of each rep and increase where I wanted. I had considered increasing the push press, but since I was thinking 32# and 33# was the real version, I figured I was biting off more than I could chew.

I had a 14 # box for the jumps, did jumping pull-ups from a little heap of weights stacked nicely and these were harder than I thought they were or than I remembered, 25# Russian KB swings, walking lunges and my legs were on FIRE with these, knees to elbows and I was almost really there for the first 15 but as I kept curling up, I put enough pressure on my stomach that I had to fight the urge to puke so I didn’t get as close on the last 15, 22# push press, supermans that were just ugly, 10# wall balls without any whining about wall balls, pushups instead of burpees, and 4:1 single unders or 120 jumps.

I spent a large part of my working time trying not to have a heart attack. My heart rate was consistently high because I was too anxious to get back to work to let it drop much below 158 which means I’m at 161 very soon and back to beeping again. But I was there doing this alone with one other guy there working on his lifts. So all the beeping was only bothering me.

I was so tired by the jump ropes that I think I went from five to sixteen so I added another ten at the end and then I did it again during the second half of the jumps. So I either jumped 120 times or my counting wasn’t off and I was just so tired I couldn’t count anymore and I did 140, but I did at least the right amount.

I finished this hellish thing in 30.48.

It took me 3 minutes and 41 seconds longer to increase the reps by 20% and increase the weight in a couple places and my knees to elbows are much closer now than they used to be. So I will give myself a pat on the back as soon as my arms work again.

And as a bonus, I didn’t die – although it did seem like a perfectly acceptable option somewhere near the end of the wall balls or the middle of the pushups.

7259_374183159360655_1247515150_n

