It is Wednesday and so no box. But because I’m still in the midst (last damn week) of the Whole Life Challenge, it is not a “rest” day but a “recovery” day. I hope this is something I bring forward with me. I think it is valuable to remember to keep moving even if it isn’t at a fast pace or with weights. I need to not sit around all day getting stiff and sore.

Cathie, a friend on Facebook, had a good idea for me. I’m worried about not keeping up with the mobilization after this is over. I’m a sucker for points. If there is a grade, I will do all in my power to get an A+ (but can settle for just a lowly A) and so I have been doing this religiously. In fact, for seven and a half weeks I haven’t missed a day. I know it is helping. I didn’t schedule my next massage at my last one and it is has been over five weeks and maybe over six since I was last there. And yet, I’m not all that stiff and sore. Cathie suggested no treats/dessert until after I mobilize. I will do nearly anything for chocolate.

Also, as a plus, I have been more flexible at the box during the warm-ups and WODs and so all in all, this is just a great big bonus. I don’t know how to spread the word on this to the people who don’t believe. Here, either people don’t do CrossFit at all and think I’m crazy or else they are real CrossFitters and already know this so I am preaching to the choir. But it does make a different to stretch and work on pressure point stuff on a daily basis. It doesn’t have to be for a long time, but it does have to be daily.

I mostly speak about diet when I am talking about WLC things and it is very, very important. I learned a lot, but some of what I learned is that I’m not going to keep doing everything I learned. I am not giving up wheat and dairy for the rest of my life. I have seen no problems solved since cutting these foods out of my life. I will, however, be cognizant of the amount of wheat and dairy I’m consuming. I may decide that cheese and crackers are not an adequate lunch. But maybe cheese and a nice crispy apple aren’t as bad. Or maybe, just maybe, that isn’t bad at all.

What I’m doing this week for lifestyle is called Kindness. I’m supposed to be kind to others on a daily basis. Now, as my family and friends can attest, I am one mean bitch when I want to be. But then again, I can be kind and sweet when I want to be. I often (and those close to me don’t need to snort and look derisive here) choose to be kind. I let people into traffic (if they haven’t driven up on the shoulder to cut in at the last minute – those assholes can rot there). See, I can be a bitch.

I have always told little old ladies who obviously put a lot of effort into getting all gussied up before leaving the house that I like their outfit or shoes or something that acknowledges their effort. I smile at strangers who look like they might need a smile. My sister-in-law and I both do this and so we are also what we call “nut magnets” because sometimes this smiling backfires and you get a new friend-for-life because you were nice and get to hear all about their entire existence, which is often bizarre. But even that is okay, because these lonely people need someone to talk to and really, how hard it is to listen and make noncommittal noises while smiling.

I don’t know if I’m supposed to be making some grand gesture of kindness on a daily basis. Am I supposed to go to some coffee shop and pay the next person’s bill for them? I don’t go to coffee shops myself and brew all my own coffee. Am I supposed to stop at a traffic accident? I actually did this once as I was on a country road, a kid was hurt, and I am a nurse. But I haven’t come upon an accident without having the ambulance already there in 35 years (I know the date because I was pregnant with Joe when I stopped).

I try to be nice as often as I can without the mean bitch stepping in the way. I give credit to others even when it would be easier and better for my ego to take credit for myself. I believe this is just karma in action and have done it ever since my mother would smack the back of my head lightly while saying, “Be nice.”

I am impatient, especially with idiots who should know better. My favorite literary quote of all time comes from Dr. Seuss: “Come now, come now/ You don’t have to be so dumb now.” I don’t even know which book that was from, but it often goes through my head as I watch some adult do something childishly stupid. I have trouble being kind in these types of situations.

I’m not exactly sure what this Kindness is supposed to entail. What I do know for sure is that I can still hear, quite often, my mother’s voice saying “Be nice” which to me is the same thing as being kind. I hope, perhaps against all hope, that she can be proud of me.

1392452_615747298468771_1997908945_n

