I had a busy weekend. I did a lot of shopping and cleaning and changing over the house from summer time to winter time and used up two of my four days that way. Then on Saturday we went to Birds of Prey which is a local bird hospital/sanctuary/education center/and bird zoo (if there is such a thing). We went out to dinner and I remained compliant up until dessert and then just blew off a point without regard.

Sunday we went to visit the grandkids and everybody played at the park and all four kids got to be together and they were so fun to watch. They are all grown up enough and Frankie finally caught up to her big cousins and they can all play together nicely. Then we went out to brunch and I remained compliant. Thank goodness no one got any onion rings because they were so tempting the day before and I don’t know if I could have resisted two days in a row. The peanut butter pie, key lime pie, and cheesecake all looked really good, but I managed to resist.

I have used 12 bonus points for the WLC. One for not drinking all that water the last day, one for beer cheese soup. I believe the other ten points used were all for sugar/dessert/chocolate. I love those things. I can live, apparently, without potato chips but I just love dessert.

Now back to my regularly scheduled life. That means up in the middle of the night to hit the box while it is still dark. Coach Jason was there this morning even though he is usually only there on Friday. Kim and Ryan went to a concert last night and the allure of middle of the night at the box just wasn’t there for them. It was just Todd, Ed, and me there today. Chris came late and didn’t do the WOD as we already having an ouchie of some sort. I have no idea what happened to Ricky or Carma and I haven’t seen Ashley since we did those horrible 100 pushups.

Warm-up was a 1000 meter row. The cop didn’t want us out running in the dark. Imagine that! I hate to run in the street in the dark. I think I need a string of battery operated Christmas lights to wind around me so people can see me. Then it was a lot of other usual stuff and end with hold two minutes at the bottom of a squat. I could only do a minute at a time and had to rest in between, but that is better than I used to be able to do so I will have to like it.

Today’s WOD as written:
Squat Cluster
Complete 25 reps:
Squat @ 85-90% of 1 RM
*Perform as many reps as possible, usually done in 1-3 reps, rack the bar and rest no longer than 30 seconds between efforts. Keep going until you complete 25 total reps.
*If you rest longer than 30 seconds between efforts, count a penalty. Perform 5 burpees for every penalty. Penalties are assessed at end of the workout.

When I looked at this last night, I noticed that it didn’t say what kind of squat. I figured, since it was Monday, it was going to be a back squat, but it could just as well have been a front squat from the rack. I looked up both my weights to make sure I knew where to start the math. My 1 RM for a back squat was just achieved and was 88# so I did the math here at home and knew it was 74.something. I can create a 73# bar so I was golden.

I also knew I wasn’t doing any damn burpees. I’m old. I told Jason my scaling was going to be to disregard that 30 second rest – if I needed to get my heart rate back down or die in the process, I shouldn’t have to be penalized for it. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

This was not supposed to be fast. It was supposed to be heavy and onerous and difficult. Someone at the 5 AM class did all 25 at once and someone else did them in two sets. They were sandbagging on the 1 RM or something.

I did manage to eke out three of them for the first bout and then it was two and two and two over and over and over. I’m not sure how deep my squats were and I don’t know how far I crumpled forward. I was just trying to get the Empire State Building off my back and up on the rack for that second lift.

Ed was doing 215# and struggling, as one might imagine. I was feeling all weenie there for a minute and then I realized that my one rep maximum effort is just as daunting for me as Ed’s much larger one rep max effort is for him. I was working really hard on the inside – just like always, even if it doesn’t look like that from an observer’s point of view.

I put my score on the board and this is only the second class of the day. The first class was light today as well and there were only five people there. So out of eight people, who do you think did either the lowest weight or had the highest time? Well, today – it wasn’t me! HA! The person who did all 25 without a stop was using 67# and there were some people over 10 minutes.

My time was 9.47 and I was thrilled with it. I managed to not beep through 21 squats. Then I finally got over 160 and had to puff a little before starting my last two squats. It was the only time I went over the 30 second wait period and it wasn’t by much, but without a low enough heart rate to start, I wouldn’t have gotten those last two. I also counted my time from when I racked the weight as that was the time I was counting for my 30 second resting time.

9f5a171e9d6493682fdbb91e65a17067

