Extra post because something I saw on Facebook triggered it.

The Whole Life Challenge has made me think of food in a different light. I don’t think of grains as necessarily evil, but I understand the glycemic index and how that affects blood sugar and the spike in insulin required to bring the body back to homeostasis.

I was at the grocery store and a woman was “educating” a man about healthy choices. They were in the oil and vinegar section of the store. He was selecting something and I came late to the conversation. I don’t know if she just butted in or if he asked her something. I just heard her telling him that she was a health advisor and taught people about healthy living and healthy diets as her job.

I looked in her cart. I saw prepackaged granola bars – full of sugars. I saw some whole wheat bread that I have looked at the label and know it means they left some brown color in, but it isn’t really whole wheat and it is wheat. While I don’t believe gluten is the devil’s handmaiden, still and all, it wasn’t exactly clean food. She also had a couple more boxes of stuff in that cart but I can’t remember exactly what they were.

She was thin and looked like she might be healthy but she obviously didn’t worry about too much sun exposure. She wanted to help the man selecting whatever he was looking for and she seemed genuinely concerned.

On the Meyers-Briggs personality test (done for real and not just online) I am an ESTJ. That J stands for Judgmental. I am. I know I am. I judge myself just as often as I judge others. Usually I keep my mouth shut so the other people don’t know I’m judging, but it doesn’t work so good for self-judging.

As I looked at her cart and listened to her words, I judged her. I compared her to what I have learned about clean eating and what makes your body over-react as you put food in. I know that I’m not going to keep these lists of banned foods forever off the table after the WLC is over. But I’m going to remember them and try to make better food choices consistently.

I would be mortified to stand in a public place and tell someone I was an advocate for healthy eating with boxes of junk food sitting in my grocery cart. Also, it is disconcerting to find out that some of what we consider “healthy” is really junk food. However, either out of cowardice or because discretion is the better part of valor, I kept my mouth shut and moved on. I don’t believe anyone truly wants a lecture on our horrific American diet. We simply don’t really want to know how bad our food is for us. It would mean we needed to take time and money and make the effort to eschew boxes of premade “food” and actually make food that was beneficial to our underused bodies. And ain’t nobody got time for that.

Unless you make the time (and effort) and choose the uncomfortable instead of the usual and easy.

Your choice.

But I wonder if I should have said something or if it would just have been rude.

8bf0b7b57629b43a0cc70c10e91decef

