Baked broccoli

Preheat oven to 375°
Chop a head of broccoli (do not rinse, immediately prior to preparing!)
Mince 2-3 cloves of garlic
Put broccoli, garlic, 2 tbsp. olive oil, and a few shakes of salt and pepper in a ziploc bag.
Shake it up!!
Spread out on baking sheet, place on top rack, and bake for about 30 minutes.
Broccoli will be crunchy and delicious!

That really was all there was to it. And it was delicious and worth trying on a different vegetable.

Back to mindfulness now.

More help from the Internet today and I listened to some dude talking me through three minutes of mindfulness breathing with bells at the beginning and at the end.

All I could really think of was his accent. The guy was from England, I think. He talked funny. Breathe in, feel the air move, how did he just say that word? Is that what my friends from My Writers Circle sound like. “If your mind wanders …” whoops. Bring your thoughts back to your breathing and concentrate on your breath moving in and out … “I wonder if it is really England or somewhere else close by.”

“Your mind might wander frequently …” Damn. I wonder how long this has been going on now. “Bring you mind back to your breathing.”

Well, it was an incredibly long three minutes but don’t get frustrated just because focusing on your breathing in and out and feeling the air move back and forth is almost as much fun as watching paint dry. This isn’t about being fun. This is about mindfulness and if you practice this, you will really know how the people in England speak.

But it was only three minutes which meant I had another seven minutes to go.

So I waited until it was darker and quieter because I was also peeking out my eyelids and listening to Dick doing dishes in the kitchen and knowing that regrettably, he was having much more fun than I was.

So I set the timer for seven minutes and sat in the dark, still room without any distractions. I listened to my breathing in and … I wonder if I should throw in a load of laundry … whoops.

Breathe in and out and feel the air … should I pack my lunches tonight instead of rushing tomorrow morni… whoops.

Feel the air move in an out and see if you are breathing more or less quickly or if your breathing is a steady rate. In with the good air; out with the bad air … whoops, that’s nursing crap and you aren’t even a nurse anymore … damn.

I was never so grateful for anything than when that timer went off and I could get back to mindlessly living my life. It’s gonna be a long two weeks or else I have to figure out what this journaling thing is all about.

Apparently this is the epitome of MINDFULNESS and it really popular on the Google images search page

Apparently this is the epitome of MINDFULNESS and it really popular on the Google images search page for this word. 

