We had a fabulous weekend with lots and lots of fun and now this!

Yesterday we went to RBs with Cousin Bill and I had a compliant meal there. Grilled shrimp in a garlic butter sauce and green beans. I made sure I didn’t touch the hush puppies. We went to the grocery store and I got a lot more compliant food. I looked for and found almond flour. Holy crap, Batman! It was $12.99 for a one pound bag of the stuff. It better be very tasty, but I’m guessing it is going to be a disappointment. Most replacement foods are.

My dried fruit tray is delicious and I’ve been enjoying the stuff that wouldn’t fit in my storage container. Wonderfully tasty and naturally sweet and without eating sugar in every damn thing that goes on my plate, I can actually taste the sweetness.

Then my wonderful day came to a screeching halt when I looked at the WOD for today. I guess you might get a flavor of the tone of these when you notice that he person posting them has given himself the name “Bringer of Pain” to post under because Henry was too tame.

It was wicked. I love reading what Craig has his people do because while it can be brutal as well, he always has levels of scaling that make it possible for someone like me to look at it, select the proper level for the day, and strive to attain something concrete. At CrossFit Summerville I am always free to ask for scaling and it is always scaled AFTER I ask. It is simply the fact that if you don’t ask, you are left with this mess to deal with.

Warm-up was a 400 meter run and I tried going a little farther but then ran out of steam at the end. Then we did this little baseball thing. Start at home plate and walking lunge to first base, do ten air squats, lunge to second base and do ten sit-ups, bear crawl to third base and do tens squats with a med ball (various weights, I used a 10#) and bear crawl to home plate. It was kind of fun, but certainly not Duck, Duck, Goose. We ended with dislocates and passthroughs.

There was a video included with the WOD and it had a great shoulder stretch and we did that as well. It was from the child yoga position. I don’t know how it was supposed to work for my shoulder but it damn near killed my knees.

Today’s WOD as written:
3×5 squats try and go up 5 # from last week and maintain good form
then
10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1
wall balls(20/14)
burpees

My back is still stiff from those deadlifts or perhaps the cleans or maybe the car ride and sitting on a metal bench or possibly even from being old. At any rate, my back isn’t back to usual after last Thursday’s WOD and all the subsequent activity. So, I worked up to the 63# pound bar for  the back squats and managed to get my three sets of five, but they weren’t really all that pretty. I did do a max effort at 68# and managed to get one rep. A new PR.

I asked upon arrival at the box today what the Masters scaling was going to be. I looked at the 5 AM class times and knew there was no way I was going to do 55 wallballs and 55 burpees in that amount of time. Ryan said to scale the moves somehow, but that wasn’t really what I was hoping for. I said I could do both wallballs and burpees, but just not that many or else we might be there until the noon class starts. He said that wasn’t the goal. We were supposed to be done in under ten minutes.

Well. I can’t do 55 burpees in under ten minutes. I can’t do 55 wallballs in that time either. I spend way too much time trying to get a heart rate that is compatible with life to get that many reps in. There have been a bunch of new people joining and they started the rep scheme at 6. That seemed too low for me. I decided to start at 8 and hope I could finish before the ten minutes was up. Carma is a beast and opted to do the entire number of reps.

I got the eight wallballs done in one swoop before I started beeping and then it was all downhill from there. I just worked until I beeped, rested until I stopped, gave myself a few more deep breaths, and went back to work. I got down to the last two rounds and I figured what the hell. I could rest when it was over. I did my two and two and then one and one and finished in 10.28. Not quite under ten minutes, but better than if I had 19 more reps of each move. Thirty-six of each was better than none – that’s my story and I’m sticking to it. Best time in my age group and all that.

Ricky finished in 6.40 with RX stuff. He is a beast. The two new people made it through. Martin and Ed were doing RX as well and I don’t know their times. Carma was powering through to the bitter end and got finished in 12.02. She rocked.

All I know for sure is that burpees suck. But that isn’t a secret.

burpee-funny-pic

