Last night my legs informed me that I was wise in the morning. It was obvious to my legs that I had worked really hard even though I only did 100 squats and a half mile instead of 200 squats and a mile in the morning. It wasn’t terrible but it was obvious that I had done a leg day.

Then I saw the WOD for today and thought about not going to the box. Then I remembered it was Friday and I go to the box on Friday. But I couldn’t do the WOD. It is all scalable. I pay for an unlimited number of trips to the box each month and I shouldn’t be scared out of going. I’m a weenie. I’m old. I can’t do a Hero WOD.

I set my alarm.

Since I forgot to sleep very much the night before, I slept soundly so at least I wasn’t fretting all night about this. However, at 5.15 I got out of bed and the first thought was, “You really don’t have to do this.” I got ready anyway. I argued with myself for a half hour as I dressed and ate my banana and fretting and talked myself into and out of going to the box.

I got in the car.

Warm-up was a 400 meter run and I couldn’t even do the whole 300 weenie thing I do. Then lunge down the mat and bear crawl back. Then ten air squats that was just cruel and my legs hated, simply hated them. Then ten V-ups and dislocates and passthroughs.

The WOD as written:
Max unbroken pushups just chest to the floor (not hand release)
then
“31 Heroes”
AMRAP 31 minutes (As Many Reps As Possible)
8 Thrusters (155/105#)
6 Rope Climbs (15 ft. ascent)
11 Box Jumps (30/24″)
This is a Partner WOD – Partner #1 will perform the work listed above. Partner #2 will run 400m with a sandbag (45/25). Once Partner #2 returns from the run, Partner #1 will grab the sandbag and begin their 400m, while Partner #2 continues work wherever #1 left off.
Score is your total # of reps
This WOD was created specifically to honor the 30 men and one dog that gave their lives for our country on August 6, 2011. It is 31 minutes long—one minute in remembrance of each hero. The rep scheme is 8-6-11—the date of their ultimate sacrifice. Finally, this is a partner WOD. The men who gave their lives were from multiple branches of our military, working together as a team.  In the workout you and your team member will constantly be taking the load from each other providing much needed support and relief. We realize that no physical sacrifice made during a workout can come close to the sacrifice our brave heroes made, but we consider this WOD a CrossFitters “moment of silence.” This is how we can honor those that gave all in the name of freedom.

Well, I managed 26 push-ups.

And then it was all downhill. I mentioned to Coach Jason that we needed to do some scaling here or there would be 32 dead folks. I was pretty sure that wasn’t the goal. So … I walked 200 meters without a sandbag. Carma (thank God, Carma showed up) and I used a 32# bar for thrusters, we did a modification of the rope climbs and instead of the three hauling my fat ass up the rope to a stand, we did three pull-ups and 3 knees to elbows except I did jump ups and knees as high as I can get them. Then we used a 20″ box and did step-ups. So it was really scaled. Carma did 200 meters, but she did carry a sandbag.

The first time I looked at the clock I was dying and figured I just had to quit. It was sixteen something and all I could think was that I was half done and couldn’t quit now. I kept going and pushing myself. My heart rate was consistently high but would drop on my stroll to the corner and back. I started the walk and Carma did the thrusters. At one point, she got the moves out of order, which meant I had to do thrusters twice in a row and they were hurting my bad arm. I wanted to cry, but that wouldn’t be heroic, so I just did thrusters.

She was walking and I was left with half the rope climbs to finish. I did them, then the box step-ups and there was just seconds left on the clock. I was beeping, but there was going to be all the rest time I needed in thirty seconds or so. I managed five more thrusters so we had a score of 6+5. We rocked it.

6 AM class after 31 Heroes

6 AM class after 31 Heroes (for the curious, I’m the second from the right)

