It rained overnight. On my drive into the box in the dark, there was all this misty steam rising from the hot pavement. It looked like a movie set with steam curling up through the headlights. All in all, it was eerie, but not too creepy. I knew it was hot and muggy out and that just lent a surreal air to the entire way too early morning.

The 5 AM coach forgot to show up but the three 5 amers who are diehards didn’t quit. They made up their own stuff to do. And were still there doing it when I showed up. They had been out in the steamy parking lot until Kim showed up and let them in.

Our warm-up was a 400 meter run and I did my shortened loop and still had to walk in. The air was liquid and I couldn’t get enough oxygen in with my steam. Then we did Kim complex down the mat which is a lunge, lunge, jumping air squat, burpee thing. Just what I needed with my slippery feet. Ten ring rows followed and one of the boys who never does that stuff had no idea what it was. Next we curled up on the floor and rolled back and forth to a sitting position ten times and then five times each with rolling out and touching a foot. Then dislocates and passthroughs and reverse dislocates.

The WOD as written:
20 MIN WORKING ON  1 ARM KETTLE BELL CLEAN
4 RFT
30 SEC PULLUPS RX+(50/35# WEIGHTED) RX (NO WEIGHT) SCALED
30 SEC REST
30 SEC BURPEES
30 SEC REST
30 SEC HSPU
30 SEC REST
SCORE IS NUMBER OF REPS

Henry included a video on the website and we watched that to see the correct form for KB clean. We have KBs in 10 pounds and then 25 pounds is the next one. Ten is too light; twenty-five is too heavy. Kim tested the move with a dumbbell and it worked, so I used a 15# dumbbell and nearly hit myself in the face a few times.

My right arm still hurts and this was no exception. It was easier to do with my left hand because my left arm doesn’t hurt.

Lindsey was there again today and so was Cooper, who is cute as can be but isn’t all that interested in CrossFit. He did get to draw on the chalkboard, though and that was really fun for a while.

For the WOD I started with green banded pull-ups, but my arm hurt so bad that even before the end of the first round, I switched to jumping pull-ups. My plan was no burpees at all, but I had enough steam on the first round to get five walking in and out burpees done. I did just regular push-ups and managed to get my heart rate back down during the rest period on the first round.

By the second round, my heart rate was in the 170s while working and I still got low enough to do 3 burpees but then I was spent on the push-up part and didn’t get very many. By the next round, I opted to just rest during the whole burpee thing and try for more push-ups. My total score for the second and third round was the same, just no burpees. I kept that plan for the fourth round and pushed harder for the pull-ups and the push-ups. I had 42 pull-ups, 8 burpees, and 44 push-ups for a score of 94.

I was looking pretty much like something the cat drug in with dripping sweat and panting like a lizard on a hot rock. I put my equipment away, kept mopping my red face, and stumbled out to the car to drive home. I hit the CD on and the first words out of there was a Carole King song crooning, “You’re beautiful.” I nearly choked.

1a80c3656b5e45714672b9d7f088e332

