I come from a family of compulsive planners. Either from nature or nurture, I come by this trait honestly and have passed it down to the next generation as well. Spontaneity it not my strong suit, not my comfort zone, not my choice. I like to think I have all my bases covered and have planned for all contingencies. This is, of course, impossible and the cause of much stress. I know I can’t cover all bases and spontaneous events crop up all the time.

Planning for major undertakings are therefore full of extreme pressure because the more moving parts there are, the more chance for serendipity to pop up and create an issue.

My family is also full of perfectionists. We like things the way we thought out in our plan (see above) and so giving directions for delegation is often more work than doing the job oneself. Also, when you delegate you have given up control over the end product which might not turn out as expected which then can have cascading effects willy-nilly throughout the overarching plan.

This is why I am not something like a wedding planner. Give me a nice controlled crisis and I can take care of that for you. Do not ask me to actually plan a crisis.

I spent the weekend volunteering for the CrossFit Hilton Head I CAN Games. Saturday was for individuals competing at the Teen, Beginner, Scaled, Master, and Proscribed levels. There were male and female divisions at each level with four WODs performed by all competitors. At the end of the day, the top eight members of the Scaled, Master, and Proscribed leader boards participated in a championship WOD. The top five placers then competed for a “winner take all” event.

The day began at 7 AM with check in (for those who did not do an early check in the evening before) and the awards and prizes were passed out around 6:30 PM. It was a long day for the athletes who were freaking amazing.

Then on Sunday, we had the team events. Teams consisted of two men and two women and were at the Scaled and Proscribed levels. Check in began at 7 AM and there was no early check in available. There were four events and total points determined the winners. Awards and prizes were handed out at 3 PM.

The entire weekend took an incredible amount of planning. Craig handled the WOD planning and set up, getting equipment hither and yon. He did the part that people really noticed. Dayna did the planning on the parts that people would have noticed only in their absence. She got the people to donate the wonderful prize packages – which was noticed. She was also the person who made sure there was something as unforgettable (until it was missing) as making sure there was toilet paper in the bathrooms.

They have been planning this event for months. There were details being worked out right up until the last minute. There were at least a bazillion details and variable to take into consideration.

And then there was the event itself. The days were sunny and bright – and hot – and buggy. It is summer is South Carolina. The people who volunteered were dedicated and without them, the two days couldn’t have happened.

And that is what I would like to spend some time on here. Craig’s biggest concern was his volunteers. All these people put in so much time. He kept worrying about them. The athletes chose this but his volunteers were his responsibility. They were too hot, they were dehydrated, they were working so hard. He fretted about how hard they worked and how they were doing it for him.

I was one of his volunteers. I didn’t park out in the sun and sweat with the athletes, judging events. I wasn’t the help who moved the weights around and set up the bars. I wasn’t one of the people bobbing on a surfboard in the ocean for the swims. I was one of the two people inputting data to keep track of scores.

I do this because I love my son. However, I know (because people tell me this all the time – and I really do mean ALL the time) that other people love my son, too. His dedication to the box and to overall health and wellness is contagious. He cares about his athletes and the feelings are mutual. They were there because they love CrossFit and they love the guy who showed them the path to walk.

There were a few glitches in the system. And like at a wedding when things do not actually follow the complete plan, the only people who know that something was missing are the people who had planned for an alternative. The participants were constantly telling us that they were impressed with the efficiency, timeliness, and smoothness of the entire event.

Without Craig and Dayna, the event wouldn’t have happened. Without the athletes, it wouldn’t have even been necessary. Without the volunteers, it wouldn’t have been possible. Over 500 people – athletes and volunteers together – had a wonderful weekend.

Thanks CrossFit Hilton Head.

954700_10100376866748211_960326817_n

